The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
The question for me is whether A1 is considered in the act of shooting after the ball is stripped. I've referenced rules regarding the start and end of a shot, and I'm still not sure. By literal interpretation of 4-1 and 4-41-1, I lean toward a shooting foul. The shot began, the airborne shooter had not returned to the floor, therefore, he is still protected as an airborne shooter. Yet, I'd have a hard time call it that way.
An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try. He didn't, so he isn't.

I agree he is still allowed a place to land.

Call a common foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try. He didn't, so he isn't.
You almost had me, but I'm not sold, yet...

4-41-2 - "...A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand..."

Therefore, if B1's strip was considered a foul, we would have a shooting foul, even though A1 had not "released" the ball on a try. Therefore, I think we have clearly defined A1 to be an airborne shooter, even though the ball was stripped by B1.

Good discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
You almost had me, but I'm not sold, yet...

4-41-2 - "...A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand..."

Therefore, if B1's strip was considered a foul, we would have a shooting foul, even though A1 had not "released" the ball on a try. Therefore, I think we have clearly defined A1 to be an airborne shooter, even though the ball was stripped by B1.

Good discussion.
But, the ball did leave the player's hand.

And, because it was blocked, and (assumption) it was certain the throw would be unsuccessful, the try ended.

Since the act of shooting ends when the ball is released, and includes the airborne shooter, and since the player is not an airborne shooter, it's not a shooting foul.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Just for the sake of clarification in the OP. The player attempting to be a shooter does jump straight up and down. THe player diving after the ball does make contact with the legs of the player trying to land as he dives for the loose ball, effectively undercutting him.

If a player were just jumping for pass or for fun at midcourt and a diving player took them out I would have a foul. So I feel you have to have something on B2. Just not sure if its a shooting foul or not.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 12:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
Just for the sake of clarification in the OP. The player attempting to be a shooter does jump straight up and down. THe player diving after the ball does make contact with the legs of the player trying to land as he dives for the loose ball, effectively undercutting him.

If a player were just jumping for pass or for fun at midcourt and a diving player took them out I would have a foul. So I feel you have to have something on B2. Just not sure if its a shooting foul or not.
Was he an airborne shooter?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Was he an airborne shooter?
Thats what I'm trying to establish . . .seems opinion is mixed.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
Thats what I'm trying to establish . . .seems opinion is mixed.
You've read the relevant rules and the arguments here -- what is your opinion / decision?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 12:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
Thats what I'm trying to establish . . .seems opinion is mixed.
Not an airborne shooter for two reasons.

First, he left the ball without the ball. Had he released a try before jumping, the answer would be the same.

Second, and most importantly, he never released a try. An airborne shooter must be someone who has either released a try, or still has the ball and is attempting to do so. Your player is simply someone who had the ball stolen who then proceeded to jump into the air.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 40
It sounds as if it has been determined that the player began as a shooter and then when the ball was stripped (and it was clear it wasn't going in the hoop) the player became a non-shooter.

Given that, it would be a common foul.

Now, same scenario however ball is hit out of shooter's hand but still goes towards the hoop (meaning it has a chance to go in the hoop). Does that make our player an airborne shooter still when he gets his legs clipped and thus 2 FT's would be awarded if the ball does not enter the hoop?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
4-1-1: "An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for a goal or has tapped the ball and has not returned to the floor."

4-23-5b: "Guarding a moving opponent without the ball: The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact."

By my reading, A1 is not an airborne shooter, as he did not release the ball on a try for goal; the ball was stripped by B2 before A1 was able to release the ball on a try.

However, all Team B players must give A1 time and/or distance to avoid contact. If A1 is caused to fall by a Team B player (as opposed to a Team A player who might dive in an attempt to secure the loose ball), that player is guilty of a common foul.

Also note that since the ball was never in flight on a try for goal, Team A will continue to have team control until a Team B player secures control of the ball or the ball becomes dead. Any common foul committed by a Team A player until that time will be a team-control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:47am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
You almost had me, but I'm not sold, yet...

4-41-2 - "...A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand..."

Therefore, if B1's strip was considered a foul, we would have a shooting foul, even though A1 had not "released" the ball on a try. Therefore, I think we have clearly defined A1 to be an airborne shooter, even though the ball was stripped by B1.

Good discussion.
When the foul occurs he is not throwing or attempting to throw anything. He doesn't have the ball when the foul occurs, therefore, he is not throwing or attempting to throw anything. If there is a foul at this point, it is a common foul.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2015, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by griblets View Post
You almost had me, but I'm not sold, yet...

4-41-2 - "...A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal. It is not essential that the ball leave the player's hand..."

Therefore, if B1's strip was considered a foul, we would have a shooting foul, even though A1 had not "released" the ball on a try. Therefore, I think we have clearly defined A1 to be an airborne shooter, even though the ball was stripped by B1.

Good discussion.
No, once the ball is stripped, A1 is no longer trying to shoot the ball. He is airborne, but not an airborne shooter. As Bob said, and airborne shooter is one who released the ball on a try.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 04:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try. He didn't, so he isn't.

I agree he is still allowed a place to land.

Call a common foul.
Excellent explanation. If the ball is stripped or knocked out of the shooter's hands by a defender before he is able to release the try, then team control continues as there never was a try in flight. There is an NFHS Interp on this from about 2005.

Edit: Here is the Interp.
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS
SITUATION 5: At the top of the key, A1 beats B1 off the dribble, reaches the free-throw line, and pulls up for a jump shot. At the apex of the jump and before the ball is released, B2 comes from the side and swats the ball out of A1’s hands. The ball goes behind A1, deflects off A2 and into the backcourt, where A3 is the first to touch it. RULING: A backcourt violation shall be called. Team control had continued for Team A because the try ended before the ball was in flight. (4-12-3a; 4-40-3,4; 9-9-1)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Jan 24, 2015 at 04:28am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some help on a blocked shot nmanzie Basketball 28 Sun Jan 18, 2015 03:06am
Blocked shot goes in Moshiner1345 Basketball 17 Thu Jan 17, 2008 07:34am
Blocked shot, then contact Smitty Basketball 6 Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:00pm
blocked shot lawton Basketball 5 Fri Dec 05, 2003 07:32pm
blocked shot rule. ilovebasketball Basketball 8 Tue May 28, 2002 04:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1