The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Chaminade (MO) vs. Paul VI (VA) (HS Basketball) (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/99100-chaminade-mo-vs-paul-vi-va-hs-basketball-video.html)

Raymond Wed Jan 21, 2015 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951401)
I know who they are I don't care if they stand on their heads and spit wooden nickels. They cannot, by Rule, Casebook Plays, and Approved Rulings for at least the past 50 years, defend their postion. They are starting to take stupid pills from the Women's Rules Committee and parroting the opinions of coaches (and fans) who have no knowledge and understanding of the rules.

MTD, Sr.

And this will help me in my game tonight how?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jan 21, 2015 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 951407)
And this will help me in my game tonight how?


What it means is that officials need to stand up and start asserting themselves as a group and call out the yahoos that are making these stupid rulings.

MTD, Sr.

Raymond Wed Jan 21, 2015 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 951408)
What it means is that officials need to stand up and start asserting themselves as a group and call out the yahoos that are making these stupid rulings.

MTD, Sr.

You have my vote and my backing. Let me know when the campaign will begin. ;)

Camron Rust Thu Jan 22, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 951365)
NCAA-Men's memo dated February 17, 2014:

Play 2- A1 is dribbling the ball and attempts to turn the corner at the top of the key to drive down the lane. B1 fouls A1 as A1 picks up his dribble. A1 then steps with his right foot and then pushes off with his left foot before beginning to raise his arm(s) or hand(s) to release the ball for a layup. The try is successful.

Ruling- The foul occurred before the act of shooting began. Therefore, the goal should not count. Charge B1 with a personal foul and shoot appropriate free throws if Team A is in the bonus. Rule 5-1.10 and 4-8.1.

Comment-The language of 5-1.10, “The try starts when the player begins the motion that normally precedes the release of the ball”, refers to the hand(s)/arm(s) in preparing to release the ball on a try for goal. Examples of the act of shooting motion includes raising the ball with the hand(s) and/or arms to shoot a layup or jump shot or the downward motion of the hand(s) or arm(s) in completing a dunk or alley-oop play. This act of shooting motion does not include but is not limited to picking up the dribble, catching (gathering) the ball, or advancing on the court with one or both feet


The case book appears to have been updated off-cycle this past summer.

I agree with that.

I also would not put the player in this play on the line in a HS game.

I don't interpret the HS rule to allow the player to keep moving and get a shot off unless they've shown some hint of trying to shoot the ball (arms starting to go up or trying to bring the arms up with the ball, for example) before the foul.

Nevadaref Thu Jan 22, 2015 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 951716)
I agree with that.

I also would not put the player in this play on the line in a HS game.

I don't interpret the HS rule to allow the player to keep moving and get a shot off unless they've shown some hint of trying to shoot the ball (arms starting to go up or trying to bring the arms up with the ball, for example) before the foul.

As written in my first post in this thread. I agree with this position elaborated by Camron.

jeremy341a Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:35am

I agree with Cameron. I also would not rule this foul to be in the act of shooting.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1