The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Double Dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98900-double-dribble.html)

Valley Man Mon Dec 22, 2014 05:44pm

Double Dribble?
 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjjccjNUbIU#t=14

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/xjjccjNUbIU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

How can the officials not deem this a double dribble?

AremRed Mon Dec 22, 2014 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 947612)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjjccjNUbIU#t=14

How can the officials not deem this a double dribble?

NFHS 4.15.4 Situation C

jmwking Mon Dec 22, 2014 06:18pm

This one's been bouncing around a while...

-jk

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 06:29pm

Legal ??? Why, Or Why Not ???
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/RF3VcagfoZg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 06:31pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 947613)
NFHS 4.15.4 Situation C

4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball:
(a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an
official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her
own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles
again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the
opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is
first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is
legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore,
A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.

BigCat Mon Dec 22, 2014 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Valley Man (Post 947612)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjjccjNUbIU#t=14

How can the officials not deem this a double dribble?

see case play 9.5. ball can be thrown off of players own backboard because it is his team's "equipment." we talked about this a month or two ago also.

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 07:16pm

I Don't Think So ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947620)
... ball can be thrown off of players own backboard because it is his team's "equipment."

So if A1 is dribbling, and then he decides to stop dribbling, and holds the ball. Then he can toss the ball against his headband, his "team's equipment", let the ball bounce back into his hands, and legally start a new dribble?

"Team's equipment" is not the way to decipher this situation.

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 07:19pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947620)
... see case play 9.5.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

It doesn't say what A1 can do after he catches the ball. Dribble again?

BigCat Mon Dec 22, 2014 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 947621)
So if A1 is dribbling, and then he decides to stop dribbling, and holds the ball. Then he can toss the ball against his headband, his "team's equipment", let the ball bounce back into his hands, and legally start a new dribble?

"Team's equipment" is not the way to decipher this situation.

if you go back to the other thread you will see that i wasnt a fan of this case play either...i decided that im going to call just about anything thrown off a players own backboard a try....and you are consistent. you bounced the ball off your headband when we talked about it November 5 too:)

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:27pm

Change It Up ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947623)
... you bounced the ball off your headband when we talked about it November 5

Headbands are so cliché. How about a hair control device? Does that catch your fancy?

BillyMac Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:33pm

Let's Double Back ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 947623)
if you go back to the other thread you will see that i wasnt a fan of this case play either...i decided that im going to call just about anything thrown off a players own backboard a try....and you are consistent. you bounced the ball off your headband when we talked about it November 5 too:)

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post943044


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1