![]() |
Technical fouls to start the game
Can someone help me with this case play? 6.4.1 SITUATION A:
Twelve minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks the ball and is charged with a technical foul. B1 is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey, as the players prepare for the start of the game. RULING: The game will be started by awarding Team B two free throws for A1's technical foul. Team A will then be given two free throws and the ball for a *division-line throw-in for B1's infraction. When the thrower of Team A has the ball for the throw-in, they have control for purposes of establishing the procedure and the arrow is immediately set toward B's basket. Team B will have the first *opportunity for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-3) Why does one penalty trump the other? Does one type of technical foul take precedence over the other? In this case play is it just order of discovery that is penalized? thanks |
Quote:
|
If ti had been a double T, then they would "offset" and no FTs would be shot. The game would start with the jump ball.
This was a false double T. |
Illegal Number ...
Quote:
Also, let's say that B1 is a designated starter, and it's the nine minute mark. What are the possible outcomes here? |
and remember, that A1's pregame dunk is charged to him and indirectly to the head coach since A1 was bench personnel. One foul is added to A team foul total. The illegal uniform T is charged directly to head coach of team B. the player is not charged with a foul. a foul is added to team total.
coaches have lost coaching box w exceptions since each has been charged with a T. see the rule for when they can stand after losing box---call TO, check on correctable error, etc.. |
Quote:
2. ---rule says you can change designated starter for illegal equipment or apparel, "etc"....... it actually says ETC. :eek: if he is a starter coach is going to want him to play so there is going to be a T at some point. coach be better off changing his number in book to legal shirt. that is team technical so coach keeps box... |
How would you signal the T for the pregame dunking? Do you sound the whistle with the "t" signal? I have never seen that situation called. Just curious.
|
Quote:
|
Year Of The Cat, Al Stewart, 1976 ...
Quote:
|
The Stars At Night Are Big And Bright ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
The problem is that someone from the NFHS wrote a case play a couple of years ago which conflicts with the text of the rules and 6.4.1 Sit A. That case play is 3.4.3 Situation C and it states to treat any technical fouls by opposing teams prior to the start of the game as offsetting double fouls. There is no way to resolve these conflicting rulings. Therefore, I will be going with the text of the actual rule and enforcing the penalties in the order in which they occur if such ever happens to me. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Y'all have been doing this long enough, if the rest of the country was going to follow suit, it would have happened already. |
I think the refs should enter to this tune: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7JmKW8xhrg
|
Quote:
NevadaRef and I agree on this situation with regard to NFHS CB Play 6.4.1 Sit. A and NFHS CB Play 3.4.3. Sit. C. CB Play 3.4.3. Sit. C was added to the 2013-14 NFHS Casebook. The sad part of the RULING for CB Play 3.4.3 Sit. C is that it references CP Play 6.4.1 Sit. A to support its Ruling. I thought that the NFHS Rules Committee would have cleaned up this mess before the start of the 2014-15 season and correct the RULLING in CB Play 3.4.3 Sit. C to conform to CB Play 6.4.1 Sit. A. MTD, Sr. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am. |