The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 08:38pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Dan,

As for the OP...as others have said, there is no CE here. Miscommunication between partners is a mistake, but there is nothing to "fix". There really is no Case Play that I am aware of that would clearly cover this situation.

As for your twist on the OP...I don't believe the WIAA or the WOA would entertain a protest on this since - once again - it was a communication issue. To say that a rule was set aside or misapplied would be a huge stretch and I just don't see Mr. C and Mr. S buying that one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 06:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Shoot the 2nd free throw with 0.6 on the clock, and players along the lane line. There is no correctable error to address in this situation.
Yep, pretty simple.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
Let me try without the book handy...

Rebounding is not an issue with the first of multiple FTs so all we have is a violation on B for not having someone in the lowest lane space. Since the FT attempt was successful I am counting it. Get the time back on the clock, get the shooter back on the line with the lane spaces occupied and shoot the second.

I think I could sell this to the coaches as the violation on the first ignored since it was successful and we are picking up with play as required.

But that's just me...I have been known to be wrong before.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Well I am not sure I would give a violation to a team that I told to not be on the lane. I think that is on "us" as officials.

This is why you slow down so you do not have to contemplate the consequences of the screw up.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatteryPowered View Post
Let me try without the book handy...

Rebounding is not an issue with the first of multiple FTs so all we have is a violation on B for not having someone in the lowest lane space. Since the FT attempt was successful I am counting it. Get the time back on the clock, get the shooter back on the line with the lane spaces occupied and shoot the second.

I think I could sell this to the coaches as the violation on the first ignored since it was successful and we are picking up with play as required.

But that's just me...I have been known to be wrong before.
see BadNews response. that is how you handle it. the free throw was merited. it isn't a violation because the R told them to clear the lane. officials error.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 62
Second free throw was good and with the lane full. Team B inbounds and does not score. (tie game)
So team B is upset that free throw no. 1 with out the lane filled let team A gain an advantage,right? My experience has been that a cleared lane and all eyes on the shooter tends to make them more nervous anyway. Since Team A won the final over-time,Team B Coach is grabing for straws.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:27pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
We made a mistake coach, sorry.

You can't re-shoot the first FT attempt, as there is no rule allowing you to do so (meaning it's not a correctable error). So you fix things and shoot the second like normal and move on.

And how can you call a violation on a team when it's your fault they violated in the first place?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:48pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
And how can you call a violation on a team when it's your fault they violated in the first place?
I feel the same way in this situation, and I wouldn't call a violation on Team B either...

but...

Let's say you administer a throw-in while one team has 6 players on the court. Are you going to not call a T because of an "officiating mistake"?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 02:53pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
I feel the same way in this situation, and I wouldn't call a violation on Team B either...

but...

Let's say you administer a throw-in while one team has 6 players on the court. Are you going to not call a T because of an "officiating mistake"?
I'd still call the tech, but the two situations are not the same.

In the first case an official told the players to clear the lane, thus creating the violation on Team B.

In your case, the official(s) didn't create the tech situation, they merely didn't do anything to avoid it.

Note: Even though it's not our responsibility, I still count players and would avoid the "too many players" tech.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 03:50pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I am lining it up for second shot with players. Since he made the FT there is no harm done.

Anytime an official is "leaving the game" which means going to the table to resolve a scoring/timing issue, he needs to get to the nearest partner to let him know - especially during free throw administration. There is a reason all but one correctable error involves Free Throw Shooting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two fouls...clear the lane? MelbRef Basketball 3 Sat Jan 29, 2011 09:18am
Pole Vault standards set incorrectly Altor Track & Field 4 Mon May 31, 2010 08:40am
Lining Up Incorrectly on a FT Spence Basketball 11 Mon Dec 29, 2008 01:43pm
Does an umpire that incorrectly calls.... WinterWillie Softball 5 Wed May 18, 2005 02:28pm
NBA Officials Memory Lane FredFan7 Basketball 1 Tue Apr 27, 2004 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1