The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   VIDEO: Wild Wisconsin finish (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98836-video-wild-wisconsin-finish.html)

JRutledge Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 946912)
If you can stop the video within the frames of :15 the screener is facing the opponent and his base is perfect. He then extends the foot and leg out at least another foot into the path of the moving defender. If your definition of "a hair" is 12 inches then that is a pretty liberal definition. It only takes a few inches of an extended shoulder, elbow, hip, knee or leg to knock an opponent off-stride, or in this case, to the floor.

If you have to stop the video to that level to prove something, it was not that obvious as you stated. And the contact is with the torso, not an extended foot or arm. The screen was simply not seen and why the contact mostly took place. I did not see the screener go out of his way to contact the defender (which is more of my standard to call an illegal screen) so that the screened player would run into him.

Peace

BigCat Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 946907)
The rule does not require that the feet be in stone. The contact mostly took place because the defender did not see the screen coming.

Peace

I've got an illegal screen on 34. he steps with that left foot late. tough to tell on video but when a player does that the top half also moves that direction. at the exact moment of contact he may very well have been stationary but not soon enough for my liking.

take a look at 34 on the next inbounds play. he puts two hands on his guy and shoves him. if i didn't call the screen illegal id likely be wondering if he got away with one…i wouldn't pass on this one. two hands on a player and a shove is stupid on his part.

can't tell if the guy got clipped on the other end. could have been the angle he was at…charge call at end looks like good call.

billyu2 Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 946907)
The rule does not require that the feet be in stone. The contact mostly took place because the defender did not see the screen coming.

Peace

But the legality of the contact is based on whether (a) the screener gave the moving defender time and distance and/or (b) was the screener's foot/leg within the framework of his body. Whether the defender saw the screen coming or not is not an issue in this particular situation. You as well as others feel the screen was okay. My initial reaction was "illegal." Subsequent breaking down of the video by frame hasn't changed my opinion. But this is a great play for discussion for sure!

JRutledge Mon Dec 15, 2014 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 946916)
But the legality of the contact is based on whether (a) the screener gave the moving defender time and distance and/or (b) was the screener's foot/leg within the framework of his body. Whether the defender saw the screen coming or not is not an issue in this particular situation. You as well as others feel the screen was okay. My initial reaction was "illegal." Subsequent breaking down of the video by frame hasn't changed my opinion. But this is a great play for discussion for sure!

Yes, but there has to be displacement. There has to be something caused by the screener. Moving a foot a little is not IMO a violation of the rule or te spirit of the rule. And if I have to slow it down to make a determination, then it was not obvious that a rule has been violated. And the screener did nothing that stood out as something clearly illegal.

Peace

frezer11 Mon Dec 15, 2014 01:44pm

Screen is hard, and someone hits the deck which makes it look bad, but I'm also OK with it. I think that if the exact same action is done and the defender doesn't fall, then this isn't nearly as big an issue.

Only call/mechanic I could do without is the OOB early. As for the PC, you need to sell that call here. I think I would more likely hit my whistle a few times, come off the baseline toward half court and give one strong sell, rather than the multiple, but point is still made.

Also on a separate note, I'm hoping the white HC has a nice sit-down conversation with that little sawed-off assistant who just seemed to escalate things.

rockyroad Mon Dec 15, 2014 01:52pm

I would love to know if the assistant coach got any discipline from the school or the league for his behavior after the PC call was made. Being that far out on the court and giving the big wave-off repeatedly is not something any coach should be doing, but especially not an assistant.

Rich Mon Dec 15, 2014 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 946924)
Yes, but there has to be displacement. There has to be something caused by the screener. Moving a foot a little is not IMO a violation of the rule or te spirit of the rule. And if I have to slow it down to make a determination, then it was not obvious that a rule has been violated. And the screener did nothing that stood out as something clearly illegal.

Peace

I'm not concerned with the width of the legs -- the contact was in the torso and the leg width didn't have a single thing to do with the player running into that screen.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 15, 2014 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 946931)
I'm not concerned with the width of the legs -- the contact was in the torso and the leg width didn't have a single thing to do with the player running into that screen.

Exactly. The screen could be doing the splits for all I care....if the contact is in the torso.

crosscountry55 Tue Dec 16, 2014 03:24pm

Agree, probably a good PC call at the end. 50/50 call if it was based on legal guarding position being established. The C might have seen a shoulder or elbow leaning in which helped him err on the side of PC. I'm ok with that and it was well sold....

Except....

....That he took a little time to process and blow the whistle. And in that time, I estimate the final 1.5 seconds or so ticked off the clock (like StripedYooper noted, timing it myself, I don't think we're at 0.0 when the actual contact occurred).

No monitor in high school, so if an official had definite knowledge of the clock at the time of contact, that time could be put back on the clock. But I wouldn't go there in this situation unless I was 110% sure. There are two human factors built into the rules here, which are the official's reaction time and the timer's reaction time. C'est la vie.

Someone said that in a sound version they never heard the horn. If that is the situation in your game, remember the game isn't over until the LED/light activates, or if that's not available, the horn sounds. Go over to the timer and see if they've got a few hundredths of a second on their digital readout, which many boxes display. If you're not at absolute zero, the game isn't over.

johnny d Tue Dec 16, 2014 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 947035)

If you're not at absolute zero, the game isn't over.


With everybody being frozen solid, the game is over anytime it gets anywhere close to absolute zero!

pizanno Wed Dec 17, 2014 02:13am

Much respect to losing coach
 
At the end, he's yelling at his team to shake hands with waiting opponents. That's leadership.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1