The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2014, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
1) no violation

2) can't tell for sure from the angle, plus the video is grainy, but it doesn't look like the defender is jumping straight up
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 03:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
If you watch the officials mechanic on #2, you can see that he was calling the offensive player for clearing out with his arm, not a block/charge situation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
1. Fumble so no violation.

2. Love the call. Defender jumped straight up and offensive player used left arm while in the air to create space.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:16am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
1) Looks like a fumble to me so no double dribble.

2) Need another angle. Defender looked vertical but can't tell what happened on the front side.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
1. No violation obvious fumble

2. If he called a clear out with arm I'm okay with it but if it's block charge I would go with block seems like defender is still going forward plus he's in the arc and a secondary defender?? Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
2. Does RA come into play? in regards to defender jumping from RA to defend....
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:27am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
It might but again with bodies in the way and from the angle we have, I can't say whether he was in or out.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
2. Does RA come into play? in regards to defender jumping from RA to defend....
Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called. If he takes off from inside the RA and jumps forward, causing him to be outside the RA, he is no longer legal and a block should be called as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCRef1983 View Post
Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called. ....
If he maintains verticality while jumping within the RA to play defense it is not a block.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 12:51pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCRef1983 View Post
Yes. Since it is legal for a defender to jump straight up to obtain legal guarding position, if he takes off from inside the RA and jumps straight up, he is still in the RA and a block should be called.
The call in this play was a player control foul because the offensive player used his extended arm to push off the defender. Therefore, in regards to this play, your statement above is incorrect. Unnatural extension of an arm, leg, or foot by the offensive player is one of the exceptions to the RA rule.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
On the PC, I really wish they would have shown another angle. No one on TV said anything about it and they never showed a replay. Going off of his signal, I don't doubt that is what happened. I requested that video mainly to see if our clips would show another angle.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request: Kentucky-Arkansas - 2:12 in Overtime (Clips Added) VTOfficial Basketball 26 Thu Jan 16, 2014 01:33pm
Video Request Indiana Miami: Foul causes a travel (Video Added) Sharpshooternes Basketball 12 Fri May 24, 2013 04:44pm
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm
Kentucky vs FLorida Video Request WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 4 Sun Mar 10, 2013 02:15am
Kentucky/Ole Miss Video Request MOofficial Basketball 25 Fri Feb 01, 2013 08:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1