The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98799-traveling.html)

Sunnyboy Mon Dec 08, 2014 09:57pm

Traveling?
 
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

AremRed Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Not a travel until he begins to dribble or returns pivot to floor before shooting or passing, thus you should grant the timeout.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:10pm

he has options
 
5-8-3a

Sounds like a legal timeout.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

AremRed Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946119)
Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

They've been corresponding via USPS.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Just noticed this was your first post. Welcome to the forum.

bob really is sincere. "Always listen to bob." :)

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:42am

Yes. Welcome to the forum. You can stand there all day with your pivot foot in the air and not commit a travel. As others have said, you can pass, shoot or call a time out. What you can't do is start a dribble or put that pivot foot back down. Remember the traveling has everything to do with what the pivot foot does and not how many steps or what looks "funny."

Focus on that pivot foot and you will get a lot more calls correct.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 09, 2014 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 946138)
Remember the traveling has everything to do with what the pivot foot does and not how many steps or what looks "funny."

And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946146)
And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Unless you start a dribble with the pivot foot up. This is a travel. The pivot foot need not come back down.

just another ref Tue Dec 09, 2014 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946146)
And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 946148)
Unless you start a dribble with the pivot foot up. This is a travel. The pivot foot need not come back down.

I believe that's what he just said.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 05:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 946151)
I believe that's what he just said.

Ok. Was a bit confusing as he worded it. Just wanted to clarify for our new found friend.

Raymond Tue Dec 09, 2014 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Why would it be a travel if he didn't put his pivot foot back down?

Sunnyboy Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:26pm

(I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)[/QUOTE]

A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

bainsey Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Passing or shooting remains to be seen. More importantly, though:

Pivot foot up + pivot foot down = travel.

Just remember this.

APG Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
(I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

Ask those people to provide a rule that states that a player in the act of shooting or passing the ball has any bearing on calling a travel in this situation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1