The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98799-traveling.html)

Sunnyboy Mon Dec 08, 2014 09:57pm

Traveling?
 
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

AremRed Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Not a travel until he begins to dribble or returns pivot to floor before shooting or passing, thus you should grant the timeout.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:10pm

he has options
 
5-8-3a

Sounds like a legal timeout.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

AremRed Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946119)
Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

They've been corresponding via USPS.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Just noticed this was your first post. Welcome to the forum.

bob really is sincere. "Always listen to bob." :)

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:42am

Yes. Welcome to the forum. You can stand there all day with your pivot foot in the air and not commit a travel. As others have said, you can pass, shoot or call a time out. What you can't do is start a dribble or put that pivot foot back down. Remember the traveling has everything to do with what the pivot foot does and not how many steps or what looks "funny."

Focus on that pivot foot and you will get a lot more calls correct.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 09, 2014 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 946138)
Remember the traveling has everything to do with what the pivot foot does and not how many steps or what looks "funny."

And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946146)
And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Unless you start a dribble with the pivot foot up. This is a travel. The pivot foot need not come back down.

just another ref Tue Dec 09, 2014 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946146)
And, except for the start of a dribble part of the travel rule, it is always the foot coming down that creates the travel, not the lifting of the foot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 946148)
Unless you start a dribble with the pivot foot up. This is a travel. The pivot foot need not come back down.

I believe that's what he just said.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 09, 2014 05:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 946151)
I believe that's what he just said.

Ok. Was a bit confusing as he worded it. Just wanted to clarify for our new found friend.

Raymond Tue Dec 09, 2014 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Why would it be a travel if he didn't put his pivot foot back down?

Sunnyboy Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:26pm

(I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)[/QUOTE]

A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

bainsey Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Passing or shooting remains to be seen. More importantly, though:

Pivot foot up + pivot foot down = travel.

Just remember this.

APG Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
(I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)
A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

Ask those people to provide a rule that states that a player in the act of shooting or passing the ball has any bearing on calling a travel in this situation.

walt Tue Dec 09, 2014 01:21pm

Grant the timeout. What rule says not shooting or passing right away once airborne makes it a travel?

Raymond Tue Dec 09, 2014 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)

A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

I would ask them what the player did that constitutes a travel since the only time you can't lift your pivot is prior to a dribble.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2014 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946119)
Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

Maybe because of the ruling that states once a pivot foot is lifted a player must pass or shoot before the pivot foot returns to the floor. The same logic that says such a player cannot even legally fumble would also preclude a legal timeout request.

jmwking Wed Dec 10, 2014 07:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Y'all are missing it: "Player dribbles on the baseline..." This isn't soccer! <ducks>

AremRed Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmwking (Post 946300)
Y'all are missing it: "Player dribbles on the baseline..." This isn't soccer! <ducks>

What are we missing?

Altor Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:36am

An OOB violation. (I noticed it originally, but decided to go with the OP's intended meaning)

bob jenkins Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 946305)
An OOB violation. (I noticed it originally, but decided to go with the OP's intended meaning)

Exactly

KCRC Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:18am

Hop Along Now
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 946204)
Passing or shooting remains to be seen. More importantly, though:

Pivot foot up + pivot foot down = travel.

Just remember this.

I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946312)
I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

No.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946312)
I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946314)
No.

Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

Raymond Wed Dec 10, 2014 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946339)
Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

Adam Wed Dec 10, 2014 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 946343)
Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

That's the exception, but the rule states what Camron said. (4-44-3b)
After a jump stop, 4-44-4b would apply.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 10, 2014 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 946343)
Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

The case was referencing the non-piviot foot...impling the other foot was the piviot foot. In such a case, a jump stop isn't even possible. When jumping as part of a jump stop, no pivot foot has been established.

Even in the jump stop scenario, where the play jumps off of the foot, they must come down with both feet together. If they're hopping on one foot, they have not executed a legal jump stop...still traveling when that one foot comes back down.

KCRC Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946339)
Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

I see the 4-44-3b rule now. Thank you. Curiously, I don't see a similar prohibition in NCAA 4-70.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 11, 2014 03:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946417)
I see the 4-44-3b rule now. Thank you. Curiously, I don't see a similar prohibition in NCAA 4-70.

See Art 1.

Quote:

Art. 1. Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.
With that article, any foot movement not described as legal is illegal.

Raymond Thu Dec 11, 2014 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946405)
The case was referencing the non-piviot foot...impling the other foot was the piviot foot. In such a case, a jump stop isn't even possible. When jumping as part of a jump stop, no pivot foot has been established.

Even in the jump stop scenario, where the play jumps off of the foot, they must come down with both feet together. If they're hopping on one foot, they have not executed a legal jump stop...still traveling when that one foot comes back down.

Oh, I understand all that. Just wanted to make sure the exception to your absolute was noted.

Sunnyboy Thu Dec 11, 2014 02:50pm

Thank you all for the comments, and for forgiving my incorrect statment that the ball was bounced "on" the baseline rather than "along" the base line. 😁

I think the key in this situation is: it will be very difficault for the player to keep the non-pivot foot in place when he/she is moving at full speed. If the player can keep the foot still, it is not a travel, but rather a smart and skilled play.

I only have five years of experience, so I am greatful to have found this forum. One person asked why my crew and I had so much talk on issue. Because I have so few years of experience, I probably take the rules more literal than others. Much less practice in applying the rule(s) in game time situations, or history of "that is how it has always been called.

Thank you all again. Great info and insight.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 11, 2014 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946501)
Thank you all for the comments, and for forgiving my incorrect statment that the ball was bounced "on" the baseline rather than "along" the base line. 😁

Now maybe you can go back and change it to end-line. ;)

frezer11 Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:35am

So here's a question in regards to this situation: Does the non-pivot foot, the foot that is on the floor, have to remain stationary with respect to the floor? In other words, can you pivot on the non-pivot foot, provided that it does not come off the floor?

Camron Rust Fri Dec 12, 2014 03:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946501)
I think the key in this situation is: it will be very difficult for the player to keep the non-pivot foot in place when he/she is moving at full speed. If the player can keep the foot still, it is not a travel, but rather a smart and skilled play.


Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 946562)
So here's a question in regards to this situation: Does the non-pivot foot, the foot that is on the floor, have to remain stationary with respect to the floor? In other words, can you pivot on the non-pivot foot, provided that it does not come off the floor?

You two might want to check the definition of which foot is the pivot foot.

Rob1968 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946570)
You two might want to check the definition of which foot is the pivot foot.

I'm regularly amazed that some officials have worked games for so long, and haven't grasped the concept that the general-world use of the word "pivot" - meaning to turn or rotate - is not the same as the basketball definition, found in 4-38: " A pivot takes place when a player who is hoolding the ball steps once or more than once, in any direction with the same foot while the other foot, called the pivot foot, is kept at its point of contact with the floor."

frezer11 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 946616)
I'm regularly amazed that some officials have worked games for so long, and haven't grasped the concept that the general-world use of the word "pivot" - meaning to turn or rotate - is not the same as the basketball definition, found in 4-38: " A pivot takes place when a player who is hoolding the ball steps once or more than once, in any direction with the same foot while the other foot, called the pivot foot, is kept at its point of contact with the floor."

Perhaps I shouldn't use the word "pivot" here, but my question is still unanswered, is the non-pivot foot that is in contact with the floor allowed to rotate or twist on the floor, provided it does not lose contact with the floor?

Rob1968 Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 946623)
Perhaps I shouldn't use the word "pivot" here, but my question is still unanswered, is the non-pivot foot that is in contact with the floor allowed to rotate or twist on the floor, provided it does not lose contact with the floor?

So, the ballhandler, holding the ball, establishes his left foot as his pivot foot, by moving his right foot to another position on the floor. The left foot, (pivot foot) can be turned/pivoted, the right foot can be re-positioned in any manner he wishes, be that lifting it from and re-contacting the floor, twisting, turning, etc.

BigCat Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 946623)
Perhaps I shouldn't use the word "pivot" here, but my question is still unanswered, is the non-pivot foot that is in contact with the floor allowed to rotate or twist on the floor, provided it does not lose contact with the floor?

yes. player can't drag it or spin it to another location. when the pivot foot is on the ground and player steps with other foot in different directions the pivot foot spins but remains in contact with floor in same location. that other foot can do the same in this situation.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 946631)
So, the ballhandler, holding the ball, establishes his left foot as his pivot foot, by moving his right foot to another position on the floor. The left foot, (pivot foot) can be turned/pivoted, the right foot can be re-positioned in any manner he wishes, be that lifting it from and re-contacting the floor, twisting, turning, etc.

And, if the actual pivot foot is lifted, the non-pivot foot may be twisted, rotated, pivoted on as long as the pivot foot itself doesn't come back to the floor....maybe that is what is being asked.

BigCat Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946639)
And, if the actual pivot foot is lifted, the non-pivot foot may be twisted, rotated, pivoted on as long as the pivot foot itself doesn't come back to the floor....maybe that is what is being asked.

yes, that was the question

frezer11 Fri Dec 12, 2014 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 946638)
yes. player can't drag it or spin it to another location. when the pivot foot is on the ground and player steps with other foot in different directions the pivot foot spins but remains in contact with floor in same location. that other foot can do the same in this situation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946639)
And, if the actual pivot foot is lifted, the non-pivot foot may be twisted, rotated, pivoted on as long as the pivot foot itself doesn't come back to the floor....maybe that is what is being asked.

Yup, that is what I was asking about, and that's what I thought, but I guess I'd never really discussed that point specifically. Thank you!

so cal lurker Fri Dec 12, 2014 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 946667)
Yup, that is what I was asking about, and that's what I thought, but I guess I'd never really discussed that point specifically. Thank you!

If you think about it, you see it all the time -- for example, picture a hook shot and the twist of the foot . . .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1