The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98799-traveling.html)

walt Tue Dec 09, 2014 01:21pm

Grant the timeout. What rule says not shooting or passing right away once airborne makes it a travel?

Raymond Tue Dec 09, 2014 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946202)

A decision is still not agreed upon. We all live close, apparently have no real life, so we can beat any dead horse we happen upon. I find myself in the majority here. The rule does not have a time frame on shot or pass. Other says if player holds the ball, they are not in the act of passing or shooting, so a travel should be called.

Thank you all for the input, and welcome.

I would ask them what the player did that constitutes a travel since the only time you can't lift your pivot is prior to a dribble.

Adam Tue Dec 09, 2014 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946119)
Why did it take so long? (I mean that sincerely -- I'm interested in the process)

Maybe because of the ruling that states once a pivot foot is lifted a player must pass or shoot before the pivot foot returns to the floor. The same logic that says such a player cannot even legally fumble would also preclude a legal timeout request.

jmwking Wed Dec 10, 2014 07:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunnyboy (Post 946112)
player dribbles on the baseline and starts to make a pass to teammate setting up for a three point attempt on far side. Pivot foot is lifted and player realizes pass will be intercepted. He pulls ball back to chest, keeps his pivot off the floor, holds the ball for two seconds and calls a timeout.
Is this a travel? What if he adjusted and made a pass to top of key. Assume foot on floor does not move. This was real play my crew has debated for a week now.

Y'all are missing it: "Player dribbles on the baseline..." This isn't soccer! <ducks>

AremRed Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmwking (Post 946300)
Y'all are missing it: "Player dribbles on the baseline..." This isn't soccer! <ducks>

What are we missing?

Altor Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:36am

An OOB violation. (I noticed it originally, but decided to go with the OP's intended meaning)

bob jenkins Wed Dec 10, 2014 08:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 946305)
An OOB violation. (I noticed it originally, but decided to go with the OP's intended meaning)

Exactly

KCRC Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:18am

Hop Along Now
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 946204)
Passing or shooting remains to be seen. More importantly, though:

Pivot foot up + pivot foot down = travel.

Just remember this.

I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946312)
I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

No.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946312)
I've often wondered...May the player hop on the non-pivot foot without limitation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 946314)
No.

Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

Raymond Wed Dec 10, 2014 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946339)
Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

Adam Wed Dec 10, 2014 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 946343)
Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

That's the exception, but the rule states what Camron said. (4-44-3b)
After a jump stop, 4-44-4b would apply.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 10, 2014 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 946343)
Not true. On a jump stop a player is permitted to jump and land without releasing the ball.

The case was referencing the non-piviot foot...impling the other foot was the piviot foot. In such a case, a jump stop isn't even possible. When jumping as part of a jump stop, no pivot foot has been established.

Even in the jump stop scenario, where the play jumps off of the foot, they must come down with both feet together. If they're hopping on one foot, they have not executed a legal jump stop...still traveling when that one foot comes back down.

KCRC Wed Dec 10, 2014 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 946339)
Because, when a player jumps, they must release the ball for a pass or try before either foot returns to the floor.

I see the 4-44-3b rule now. Thank you. Curiously, I don't see a similar prohibition in NCAA 4-70.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 11, 2014 03:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KCRC (Post 946417)
I see the 4-44-3b rule now. Thank you. Curiously, I don't see a similar prohibition in NCAA 4-70.

See Art 1.

Quote:

Art. 1. Traveling occurs when a player holding the ball moves a foot or both feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits described in this rule.
With that article, any foot movement not described as legal is illegal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1