The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Womens UCONN/UW Greenbay-Table Crash (Video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98784-womens-uconn-uw-greenbay-table-crash-video.html)

Rich Sun Dec 07, 2014 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 945926)
An excellent example on how to be insightful using a useless scientific fact.

I'm a bit slow -- can't tell if you're being sarcastic. I guess I should be impressed by that alone.

Truth is, sometimes the official the farthest away has the best angle. He closed distance and sold the call.

Stat-Man Sun Dec 07, 2014 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 945899)
The thing that bugs me about these plays is if you do all a foul the coach ALWAYS says, "It's a loose ball. There can't be a foul!!"

Yesterday, I had a 7th grade girls game where the visiting coach wanted a "loose ball foul" called. If only such a thing existed in the NFHS rule book. :D

On-topic, I'd have a foul on white as well. It's possible the L & T might be straightlined through no fault of their own to be able to make that call. I agree with Rich's comments about angle and closing distance to sell the call.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 07, 2014 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 945924)
BTW, that was the center making the call -- the L rotated over and put the old C / new T in a horrible position.

I wouldn't say the L rotating put the C/T in a horrible position. She would have been in that horrible position even if the L had not rotated. She got screened by the players (even got run into) and whether she was supposed to be C or T, she would have had no look.

It was good of the new C to recognize the T was pinned and prevented from seeing the play. Whether we agree or not with the actual call, it was on the T to cover it.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 07, 2014 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S. (Post 945911)
I can't believe this is even a debate. A player who leaves her feet and makes contact doesn't have legal position, period.

First, what does that have to do with this play?

Second, it isn't even correct.

Matt S. Sun Dec 07, 2014 03:38pm

Camron, show me a rule set where a player with no foot on the floor that creates contact is considered legal. You cannot undercut a player who is going after a loose ball, can you?

Camron Rust Sun Dec 07, 2014 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S. (Post 945958)
Camron, show me a rule set where a player with no foot on the floor that creates contact is considered legal. You cannot undercut a player who is going after a loose ball, can you?

You didn't say "creates" contact before...you said makes contact. Even so, it is still incorrect. Two players, from equally favorable positions going for a lose ball....feet on the floor is irrelevant.

I do have a foul on white in this play, but not for having no feet on the floor. Blue beat her to the spot...the positions were not equally favorable.

Rich Sun Dec 07, 2014 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 945954)
I wouldn't say the L rotating put the C/T in a horrible position. She would have been in that horrible position even if the L had not rotated. She got screened by the players (even got run into) and whether she was supposed to be C or T, she would have had no look.

It was good of the new C to recognize the T was pinned and prevented from seeing the play. Whether we agree or not with the actual call, it was on the T to cover it.

Sorry, I was really thinking on a different wavelength -- horrible position for a trail, is what I meant. Completely agree with your post.

AremRed Sun Dec 07, 2014 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 945924)
What does the distance have to do with anything? I can see the sun and it's 93 million miles away, after all.

I think it's a fantastic piece of officiating. The official on the ballside of the floor was pinned inside and had no idea what happened there.

BTW, that was the center making the call -- the L rotated over and put the old C / new T in a horrible position.

I was being sarcastic bro.

Rich Mon Dec 08, 2014 05:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 945988)
I was being sarcastic bro.

Don't tase me.

aces88 Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:54am

Actually, there was no foul called on the play.

walt Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:02pm

Easy foul call on white. Glad one of the crew came to get it.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 08, 2014 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by aces88 (Post 946047)
Actually, there was no foul called on the play.

You must be looking at a different play. The official across the court from the collision came running across with a whistle and a fist in the air.

twocentsworth Mon Dec 08, 2014 04:09pm

The foul is on the BLUE player...and it's not even close.

Adam Mon Dec 08, 2014 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt S. (Post 945958)
Camron, show me a rule set where a player with no foot on the floor that creates contact is considered legal. You cannot undercut a player who is going after a loose ball, can you?

Any player who is running. There are cases where they may "create" contact, by some definitions, and be legal.
Any player with LGP who is jumping.

Off the top of my head anyway.

Kansas Ref Mon Dec 08, 2014 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 946080)
The foul is on the BLUE player...and it's not even close.

*whuh??


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1