The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 05:53pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
What year did the rule change to enter the lane when the ball hits the rim/backboard? I thought it was a foul if there was contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball hit the rim.
I brought up this discussion back in June when the rule changes were announced.
It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 20, 2014, 06:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
He Said, She Said ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.
"Clarification" ???

I'm still having trouble tracking this down, but the last that I heard, from my local interpreter, was that IAABO contacted the NFHS regarding the absence of this in the current rulebook, and received a response from the NFHS that this rule should still be utilized.

I'm 100% sure that we are utilizing this rule here in my little corner of Connecticut, and I'm almost positive that we are using this rule throughout the entire Constitution State. I'm not sure what Peter Webb is doing with IAABO "International".

As I stated earlier, I'm having trouble tracking this down. It's like I need to know a secret handshake to get any factual information.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 20, 2014 at 08:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
"Clarification" ???

I'm still having trouble tracking this down, but the last that I heard, from my local interpreter, was that IAABO contacted the NFHS regarding the absence of this in the current rulebook, and received a response from the NFHS that this rule should still be utilized.

I'm 100% sure that we are utilizing this rule here in my little corner of Connecticut, and I'm almost positive that we are using this rule throughout the entire Constitution State. I'm not sure what Peter Webb is doing with IAABO "International".

As I stated earlier, I'm having trouble tracking this down. It's like I need to know a secret handshake to get any factual information.
IAABO published the following caseplay at the beginning of the Fall and included it in the last Sportorial ...

Free thrower A1 releases the try. B3, occupying a free throw lane line space moves into the free throw lane to “box-out” A1, then breaks the vertical plane of the outside edge of the free throw line with a foot or feet prior to the ball contacting the backboard or the ring. Ruling: Violation by B3. (9.1.3g)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.
Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.

A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.
A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.
You highlighted the wrong part.

In the play being discussed, B4 (or whoever) doesn't cross the FT line to "box out" the FT shooter until after the ball has been released.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
You highlighted the wrong part.

In the play being discussed, B4 (or whoever) doesn't cross the FT line to "box out" the FT shooter until after the ball has been released.
Yeah, I know it's after the ball was released. But, what they are saying is that if B4 crosses the free-throw line before it hits backboard or ring, it should be ruled a violation.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Yeah, I know it's after the ball was released. But, what they are saying is that if B4 crosses the free-throw line before it hits backboard or ring, it should be ruled a violation.
I'm not sure who you mean by "they." If it's IAABO, I accept that they are saying this. But, they aren't getting it from the reading of the rule. In our (non-IAABO) state, it is NOT a violation.

If you mean "NFHS", then I disagree that they are saying this should be a violation. They might have meant to say that, and it wouldn't be the first time that what they said is not what they meant (or vice versa).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'm not sure who you mean by "they." If it's IAABO, I accept that they are saying this. But, they aren't getting it from the reading of the rule. In our (non-IAABO) state, it is NOT a violation.

If you mean "NFHS", then I disagree that they are saying this should be a violation. They might have meant to say that, and it wouldn't be the first time that what they said is not what they meant (or vice versa).
Yes, "they" being IAABO ... since Peter Webb is now a part of the NFHS rules committee.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 842
Letter to IAABO

This was my question/Statement to IAABO.
I do not understand the Ruling reference to the 3rd paragraph under 'Rules Reminders & Interpretations'. Rule 9-1-3g does not justify the violation to B3. Many years ago when the players in a markes lane space could enter the lane on the release of the Free Thrower, there was a restriction stating they could not break the Free Throw line, nor make contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball contacted the rim. That rule went away when ALL players were restricted to move until the ball contacted the rim
As you are aware, the free thrower is restricted to the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.


This is the response from Pete Webb
The free throw semi-circle is "off limits" to all other players until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

The players located in marked free throw lane line spaces along the free throw
lane line may enter the free throw lane, upon the free thrower's release of the
free throw. Those players may not, with their foot, break the outside edge of the free throw line until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

Chances are that the rule will be edited (re-written) for 2015-16


I wanted to reply saying if there is nothing saying it is wrong, then it must be OK.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
[QUOTE=PG_Ref;944260]Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.

A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.[/QUOTE
This comment just says you can't break the plane of the free throw line until the ball is released. Doesn't say you have to wait til ball hits rim to cross plane of FT line. in old days, when you could enter the lane on release, you had to wait til ball hit rim to actually then cross free throw line. The IAABO play you have below says it but I haven't seen anything from NFHS, either in rules or comments, to support that play....it cites 9.1.3g but that rule doesn't say that..thx
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 05:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,331
Free Throw Line ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.
The free throw lane line is not the same as the free throw line. This caseplay correction is irrelevant to the question about a defender along the lane crossing the free throw line to box out the shooter before the ball hits the rim, or backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D1 staff Ch1town Basketball 4 Tue Apr 29, 2008 09:04pm
Rule 7-6 art. 4 musings fullor30 Basketball 12 Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:02am
Second Round Musings BktBallRef Basketball 5 Mon Mar 18, 2002 07:50pm
First Round Musings! BktBallRef Basketball 7 Sun Mar 17, 2002 01:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1