The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Musings from my Officials Staff Mtg (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98627-musings-my-officials-staff-mtg.html)

AremRed Sat Nov 15, 2014 12:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 943610)
Send some of the folks you work with to the Forum. That'll remind them all the video that APG and I - as well as others - post has to come from somewhere.

You mean this video?

Mregor Sun Nov 16, 2014 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 943455)
Absolutely not. We wait till we hit the road outside the parking lot to open up the cooler.

:p

Cooler? When I was where you are now, we used the snow bank as our cooler. :p I remember doing some digging when I couldn't remember exactly where we buried the treasure. :D

JRutledge Sun Nov 16, 2014 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 943459)
Back when I started officiating in the late 1980s, the length of a road trip was measured in the number of six packs you'd get for the ride home.

Thankfully, those days are long over.

Still people that feel that way. I am not one of them, but I know people that insist on doing just that.

Peace

Zoochy Thu Nov 20, 2014 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 943417)
No, it wasn't the case before. Before, it was a lane violation on the defender.

What year did the rule change to enter the lane when the ball hits the rim/backboard? I thought it was a foul if there was contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball hit the rim.
I brought up this discussion back in June when the rule changes were announced.

Rich Thu Nov 20, 2014 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 944222)
What year did the rule change to enter the lane when the ball hits the rim/backboard? I thought it was a foul if there was contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball hit the rim.
I brought up this discussion back in June when the rule changes were announced.

It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.

BillyMac Thu Nov 20, 2014 06:27pm

He Said, She Said ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 944226)
It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post941796

I'm still having trouble tracking this down, but the last that I heard, from my local interpreter, was that IAABO contacted the NFHS regarding the absence of this in the current rulebook, and received a response from the NFHS that this rule should still be utilized.

I'm 100% sure that we are utilizing this rule here in my little corner of Connecticut, and I'm almost positive that we are using this rule throughout the entire Constitution State. I'm not sure what Peter Webb is doing with IAABO "International".

As I stated earlier, I'm having trouble tracking this down. It's like I need to know a secret handshake to get any factual information.

PG_Ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 944226)
It used to be a rule that it was a violation to break the plane of the FT line before the ball hit. That did not make it back to the rule book this year.

Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.

A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.

PG_Ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 944227)
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post941796

I'm still having trouble tracking this down, but the last that I heard, from my local interpreter, was that IAABO contacted the NFHS regarding the absence of this in the current rulebook, and received a response from the NFHS that this rule should still be utilized.

I'm 100% sure that we are utilizing this rule here in my little corner of Connecticut, and I'm almost positive that we are using this rule throughout the entire Constitution State. I'm not sure what Peter Webb is doing with IAABO "International".

As I stated earlier, I'm having trouble tracking this down. It's like I need to know a secret handshake to get any factual information.

IAABO published the following caseplay at the beginning of the Fall and included it in the last Sportorial ...

Free thrower A1 releases the try. B3, occupying a free throw lane line space moves into the free throw lane to “box-out” A1, then breaks the vertical plane of the outside edge of the free throw line with a foot or feet prior to the ball contacting the backboard or the ring. Ruling: Violation by B3. (9.1.3g)

bob jenkins Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 944260)
Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.
A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.

You highlighted the wrong part.

In the play being discussed, B4 (or whoever) doesn't cross the FT line to "box out" the FT shooter until after the ball has been released.

BigCat Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:13am

[QUOTE=PG_Ref;944260]Actually it did. It wasn't in the rule book when it was first published, but when all of the corrections were published, they included the wording without highlighting it ...

Page 70, 9.1 Comment - Sentence two (2) should read: Once a free throw begins no player may enter or leave a marked free throw lane line space or break, with either foot, the vertical plane of the free throw lane line or marked lane space boundary prior to the release of the ball by the free thrower.

A subtle change in wording that makes a difference.[/QUOTE
This comment just says you can't break the plane of the free throw line until the ball is released. Doesn't say you have to wait til ball hits rim to cross plane of FT line. in old days, when you could enter the lane on release, you had to wait til ball hit rim to actually then cross free throw line. The IAABO play you have below says it but I haven't seen anything from NFHS, either in rules or comments, to support that play....it cites 9.1.3g but that rule doesn't say that..thx

PG_Ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944264)
You highlighted the wrong part.

In the play being discussed, B4 (or whoever) doesn't cross the FT line to "box out" the FT shooter until after the ball has been released.

Yeah, I know it's after the ball was released. But, what they are saying is that if B4 crosses the free-throw line before it hits backboard or ring, it should be ruled a violation.

bob jenkins Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 944271)
Yeah, I know it's after the ball was released. But, what they are saying is that if B4 crosses the free-throw line before it hits backboard or ring, it should be ruled a violation.

I'm not sure who you mean by "they." If it's IAABO, I accept that they are saying this. But, they aren't getting it from the reading of the rule. In our (non-IAABO) state, it is NOT a violation.

If you mean "NFHS", then I disagree that they are saying this should be a violation. They might have meant to say that, and it wouldn't be the first time that what they said is not what they meant (or vice versa).

PG_Ref Fri Nov 21, 2014 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 944275)
I'm not sure who you mean by "they." If it's IAABO, I accept that they are saying this. But, they aren't getting it from the reading of the rule. In our (non-IAABO) state, it is NOT a violation.

If you mean "NFHS", then I disagree that they are saying this should be a violation. They might have meant to say that, and it wouldn't be the first time that what they said is not what they meant (or vice versa).

Yes, "they" being IAABO ... since Peter Webb is now a part of the NFHS rules committee.

Zoochy Fri Nov 21, 2014 03:18pm

Letter to IAABO
 
This was my question/Statement to IAABO.
I do not understand the Ruling reference to the 3rd paragraph under 'Rules Reminders & Interpretations'. Rule 9-1-3g does not justify the violation to B3. Many years ago when the players in a markes lane space could enter the lane on the release of the Free Thrower, there was a restriction stating they could not break the Free Throw line, nor make contact with the Free Throw shooter before the ball contacted the rim. That rule went away when ALL players were restricted to move until the ball contacted the rim
As you are aware, the free thrower is restricted to the free throw semi-circle until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.


This is the response from Pete Webb
The free throw semi-circle is "off limits" to all other players until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

The players located in marked free throw lane line spaces along the free throw
lane line may enter the free throw lane, upon the free thrower's release of the
free throw. Those players may not, with their foot, break the outside edge of the free throw line until the ball contacts the backboard or basket ring.

Chances are that the rule will be edited (re-written) for 2015-16


I wanted to reply saying if there is nothing saying it is wrong, then it must be OK.

OKREF Fri Nov 21, 2014 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 943459)
Back when I started officiating in the late 1980s, the length of a road trip was measured in the number of six packs you'd get for the ride home.

Thankfully, those days are long over.

I wished. I also do football and we have a quarterfinal tonight, and it is 178 miles one way!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1