![]() |
I don't have the rulebook with me, so forgive me if I'm wrong, but it doesn't seem that the dribble has ended. That's my biggest hangup.
|
Look at 4-15-6.
During an interrupted dribble: No closely guarded count. No player control foul. No time-out granted. No out of bounds violation on the player. In short, nothing associated with a dribble is in effect during an interrupted dribble and I am quite comfortable that this includes the ball maintaining backcourt status. I think it is also important to note that time is not a factor here. There is no minimum time involved in an interrupted dribble. The key is loss of control. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I think they are avoiding saying the dribble ends when the ball gets away because they want the player to be able to resume his dribble. He couldn't do it if they said the dribble ended when it got away. thx |
Quote:
|
I'm trying to think of how I'd explain it to a coach.
"During the interrupted dribble the ball gained frontcourt status. When your player touched the ball he had backcourt status, hence the backcourt violation." |
Quote:
Take a poll of every coach in the world and ask for a definition of an interrupted dribble. If I did start to explain this (which is unlikely) I would avoid the use of this term. The division line causes more people to be unhappy for no reason than anything in the game. |
Quote:
But I could say "when he lost control of the ball" instead. |
Quote:
I think that would be better. Coaches notoriously see what they want to see and, in this case, hear what they want to hear. You say "interrupted dribble" and they're gonna just latch onto the "dribble" part. And I think most coaches are familiar with the 3 points rule. |
Quote:
|
The End Is Near ...
Quote:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands. d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control. e. The ball becomes dead. |
Quote:
|
What is the purpose of the interrupted dribble definition?
We know during an interrupted dribble there is no PC. We know we are not supposed to grant a time-out during an interrupted dribble because there is no PC. During an interrupted dribble, if A1 legally leaves the court he can re-enter the court and resume his dribble. So in other instances we do not consider an interrupted dribble to be part of the actual dribbling process. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48am. |