![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But something has drastically changed. Namely the addition of 10-6-12 which is obviously intended to go above and beyond that which was stated above.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
The NCAA does a better job through Rule 10-1 to describe when is or isn't a foul throughout the rest of the section. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
To whom it may concern.
I went to a meeting tonight where the Boys Basketball Administrator was speaking. After his comments to the group, I asked him directly after the meeting about this interpretation that it appears NCAA Women's officials are stuck on. Well in Illinois, this one touch at one part of the court and another touch several feet later up the court was not considered a foul unless RSBQ was affected. He even made it clear the first touch could be a foul if RSBQ was affected, but it would not be an "automatic" if the second touch happen at a different time. And this is a person that says that we should call the game by the rules and not pick and choose. So it appears at least in Illinois, the NCAA Women's interpretation does not apply. He even said that him and the other administrator would have to discuss the issue as I made him aware that there are NCAA Women's officials that are trying to apply interpretations to the NF rules, but it appears he does not support that position as we have talked about here. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
JRut, it's not a matter of me or any other NCAAW's official "trying to apply interpretations to the NF rules." The language in the NFHS rule as it relates to the "absolutes" is the same as NCAAW's. Like it or not, any state that determines a second touch on the BH/dribbler isn't a foul won't be following the NFHS rule set.
In NCAAW the first touch can also be a foul if RSBQ is affected. I called that more than a few times in the past year in my college and GV games. But if there's a second touch it's a foul, regardless of RSBQ. Earlier you posted NCAAM 10-1-4. Here's NCAAW 10-1-4: Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Sooooo...just to make sure I understand this all correctly:
The NF rule says it is a foul if the defender contacts the ball handler more than once with the same hand or alternating hands. Mr. Rutledge says he won't call that if there is some undetermined amount of time between the first touch and the second touch. So my question is: What is that undetermined amount of time? Are you going to count the number of steps the ballhandler takes between defensive touches? 4 or fewer steps will result in a foul call, while 5 or more will result in no foul being called? Or will it be a certain number of seconds off the clock between touches? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And if you have to ask all those questions, then the rule does not have a definitive answer to begin with. IJS. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Freedom of movement is a rule given right | ref3808 | Basketball | 11 | Tue Apr 10, 2012 05:43pm |
| Natural movement? 8.01a | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jun 09, 2010 08:25am |
| Movement Policy? | Rags 11 | Baseball | 30 | Thu Apr 16, 2009 06:05pm |
| Purposeful movement | Ch1town | Basketball | 15 | Fri May 02, 2008 01:28am |
| Movement before serve | refnrev | Volleyball | 5 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:46am |