Camron Rust |
Wed May 21, 2014 01:40pm |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
(Post 934549)
Except that it is not supported BY RULE. This is only a violation due to a Case Play ruling. I believe that is the point of the OP.
|
Sure it is...
Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A player who catches the ball with both feet on the floor, may pivot, using either foot. When one foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot.
|
That establishes that when a foot is lifted, the other is the pivot foot. it doesn't say ONLY one foot. So, if a player jumps from two feet, one foot has been lifted and the other is the pivot. You could say that the pivot is the last one to break contact with the floor (and it really will be one or the other if you look close enough). However, it doesn't really matter which was lifted first on a jump because the result is the same either way.
Then, Article 3 kicks in...
Quote:
ART. 3 . . . After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal
|
|