![]() |
No call or foul? (Clips)
A1 pulls up for a jumper with B1 standing in front with arms up in LGP and arms inside cylinder. A1s forward motion of his shooting arm contacts B1's forearm affecting his shot. I called this a foul the other day and didn't feel good about it then and think I was wrong. Anyone share any thoughts on this or tricks to help with deciding what kind of arm contact is a foul, incidental or marginal?
|
Do not penalize a defender for doing nothing illegal. Unless the defender was moving forward while the shooter left the floor, I see no reason to call a foul on them at all. The shooter should take a better shot.
Peace |
In your opinion what did the defender do wrong?
|
Quote:
The defender in retrospect didn't do anything wrong and I should have no called it. Thanks for putting into words what I was thinking. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you are in your vertical plane, it is hard to have a different position with your hands than your hands. Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Can our video gurus post maybe a play involving slight arm contact that is illegal and perhaps some major contact that is legal?
|
I know of some verticality plays that have been posted here. Not sure the contact was only with the arms.
Peace |
And maybe while we are at it, I know a lot of newer officials, myself included struggle with a blocked shot+body contact=foul. If there is a clean block up top and then body contact that should be incidental correct? If the body contact occurs before the blocked shot this is a foul. How about from behind say on a breakaway: a blocked shot from behind with body contact that knocks the shooter off balance. What do you rule on this?
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am. |