The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   No call or foul? (Clips) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97880-no-call-foul-clips.html)

Camron Rust Fri May 09, 2014 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 933778)
Ball then body is usually incidental (no-call). Body then ball could be a foul or no-call, depending on the amount/legality of contact and what you have called before.

Agree....with body first, you have to decide if that body contact enabled the block or not. If they would have not been able to get to the ball without going through the body, it should probably be a foul. If the would have blocked the ball either way, maybe not, depending on how much contact.

JetMetFan Fri May 09, 2014 03:32pm

Essentially it's a matter of displacement/did the defender gain an advantage that wasn't intended by rule? Put it this way, would we let a defender go through a ball-handler/dribbler to steal the ball? Most likely, no. Same thing with blocking a shot.

As for video, I'll check to see if anything in my list applies to Sharp's request.

APG Fri May 09, 2014 03:52pm

Note that many agreed that play three should have been a no call

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/QqgmB82Vy2E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/7wh3gCDqnnw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/asM2m72DEyA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/vcgWuXf_bag" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/DIgx-iYcnYA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Raymond Mon May 12, 2014 12:09am

I have fouls in the 3rd (Lebron) and 4th (Paplovic) videos.

Sharpshooternes Mon May 12, 2014 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 933859)
I have fouls in the 3rd (Lebron) and 4th (Paplovic) videos.

Can you please elaborate as to why?

rsl Mon May 12, 2014 09:03pm

You guys are smarter than I am, so I tend to listen. But I am confused by this thread.

Why does a defender get a pass on contact that caused displacement just because he gets ball first?

In both videos (3 & 4), the defender clearly displaces the shooter, and would not never have gotten there in time to make the block if they had not overrun the shooter.

What part the rule is not met for a foul? I have contact, displacement, and disadvantage.

Raymond Mon May 12, 2014 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 933860)
Can you please elaborate as to why?

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 933907)
You guys are smarter than I am, so I tend to listen. But I am confused by this thread.

Why does a defender get a pass on contact that caused displacement just because he gets ball first?

In both videos (3 & 4), the defender clearly displaces the shooter, and would not never have gotten there in time to make the block if they had not overrun the shooter.

What part the rule is not met for a foul? I have contact, displacement, and disadvantage.

In videos 3 & 4 I have B1 going through A1 to make the block, thus IMO, fouls.

Camron Rust Mon May 12, 2014 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 933908)
In videos 3 & 4 I have B1 going through A1 to make the block, thus IMO, fouls.

Agree.

In #1, the only fouls I see are illegal screens...the second of which (by #22) had a big part to do with the shooter getting open for the pass.

AremRed Mon May 12, 2014 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 933860)
Can you please elaborate as to why?

I don't have fouls in the 3rd and 4th plays. I think the block happens first making the contact afterwards incidental.

I'm with Camron on the illegal screen by Splitter in the 1st video....his screen was 9 feet wide!

just another ref Mon May 12, 2014 11:45pm

1 & 2 are fouls. 3 is a no call. 4 is a travel.

rsl Tue May 13, 2014 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 933911)
I don't have fouls in the 3rd and 4th plays. I think the block happens first making the contact afterwards incidental.

I can see this, and I know when I make this kind of call it is not popular. Athletic blocks are entertaining, and most people only watch the contact on the ball. This is why I am very interested in hearing opinions from everyone here. Perhaps I should change the way I look at these calls.

Here are some of the applicable rules:

4-27-5 If, however, a player approaches an opponent from behind or from a position from which he/she has no reasonable chance to play the ball without
making contact with the opponent, the responsibility is on the player in the unfavorable position.

4-45-6 The defender may not “belly up” or use the lower part of the body or arms to cause contact outside his/her vertical plane which is a foul.

10-6-9 When a dribbler in his/her progress is moving in a straight-line path, he/she may not be crowded out of that path, but if an opponent is able to legally obtain a defensive position in that path, the dribbler must avoid contact by changing direction or ending his/her dribble.

AremRed Tue May 13, 2014 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 933913)
1 & 2 are fouls. 3 is a no call. 4 is a travel.

I agree with you on 2 but not 4. Not under that rule set :P

just another ref Tue May 13, 2014 12:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 933916)
I agree with you on 2 but not 4. Not under that rule set :P

What rule set is that?

Camron Rust Tue May 13, 2014 01:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 933913)
1 & 2 are fouls. 3 is a no call. 4 is a travel.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 933916)
I agree with you on 2 but not 4. Not under that rule set :P

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 933917)
What rule set is that?

I don't see a travel in #4 in any rule set.

APG Tue May 13, 2014 06:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 933913)
1 & 2 are fouls. 3 is a no call. 4 is a travel.

I can tell you for a fact that play 1 was ruled a no call correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1