The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:34am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Secondary Defender

A.R. 92. As A2 makes a drive to the basket, B1, a secondary defender, establishes initial guarding position within the restricted area. Contact occurs. One official calls a charge while another official calls a block.

RULING: B1 was a secondary defender who illegally established initial guarding position within the restricted area. Consequently, the blocking call against B1 is the correct call.
(Rule 4-35 and 10-1.13)
Interesting. In the other cases, which call is correct has nothing to do with it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Interesting. In the other cases, which call is correct has nothing to do with it.
Because in this case, BY RULE it is a blocking foul. In the other case there is no default call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Because in this case, BY RULE it is a blocking foul. In the other case there is no default call.
. . . just judgement . . . right or wrong . . . or is that right and wrong . . .
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 11:03am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Interesting. In the other cases, which call is correct has nothing to do with it.
It's an entirely different case because in this scenario, it's only a matter of if the defender was in the RA or not.

The ruling is also true in the NBA and NCAA-W with regard to the lower defensive box.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NC State/Clemson (W)...near blarge (video) JetMetFan Basketball 14 Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:43am
Stanford-California Video Request (Video) VTOfficial Basketball 21 Sun Feb 09, 2014 01:10pm
Kansas vs Okla St - Blarge (Video Request) grunewar Basketball 15 Sun Jan 19, 2014 01:25pm
Video Request: Kentucky-Arkansas - 2:12 in Overtime (Clips Added) VTOfficial Basketball 26 Thu Jan 16, 2014 01:33pm
LSU vs Arkansas jwwashburn Football 7 Mon Nov 26, 2007 01:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1