The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   SWAC Men's Championship Game--Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97519-swac-mens-championship-game-video-request.html)

JetMetFan Mon Mar 17, 2014 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 927279)
Initial contact should have been a foul per the emphasis on rule 10-1-4, but at the point the whistle was blown, that should have been a PC.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 927407)
Really? I don't see the defender gaining any advantage from that momentary touching with the hands. In fact I see the contact uncalled in every D1 game I watch. I know it's a POE, but something that brief? Not a foul. Ant versus elephant.

I don't either. As someone on the Women's side who's had it beaten into his head to blow a whistle on these the only call under 10-1-4 would be the arm bar. For an "automatic" foul due to an arm bar it has to be extended away from the defender's body. B1 doesn't get much of a chance to do that before he's hit by A1's arm (then shoulder, etc.).

APG Mon Mar 17, 2014 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 927407)
Really? I don't see the defender gaining any advantage from that momentary touching with the hands. In fact I see the contact uncalled in every D1 game I watch. I know it's a POE, but something that brief? Not a foul. Ant versus elephant.

Without regard to the play at hand, 10-1-4 is written and enforced in a manner such that you don't judge advantage gained or not. It is a foul simply because.

johnny d Mon Mar 17, 2014 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 927422)
I don't either. As someone on the Women's side who's had it beaten into his head to blow a whistle on these the only call under 10-1-4 would be the arm bar. For an "automatic" foul due to an arm bar it has to be extended away from the defender's body. B1 doesn't get much of a chance to do that before he's hit by A1's arm (then shoulder, etc.).


In every video bulletin sent out by Adam's this year, there are plays where he either congratulates the officials for calling the arm bar without extension away from the defenders body, or admonishes the officials that don't make that call when it occurs. Yet another difference in how things are expected to be handled on the NCAA-M vs. NCAA-W side.

JetMetFan Mon Mar 17, 2014 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 927426)
In every video bulletin sent out by Adam's this year, there are plays where he either congratulates the officials for calling the arm bar without extension away from the defenders body, or admonishes the officials that don't make that call when it occurs. Yet another difference in how things are expected to be handled on the NCAA-M vs. NCAA-W side.

Why am I not surprised? :rolleyes: The NCAAW bulletins - and we haven't had many - have reminded us the auto-foul for the arm bar is for contact away from the body. If the arm bar is next to/close to the body there's no foul unless there's continuous contact.

In real-time I was more inclined to put this under the defender raising his hands within his vertical plane and/or defending himself because contact was coming...mainly because he was in "retreat" mode (i.e., moving backwards) as opposed to moving forwards in "attack" mode.

bob jenkins Mon Mar 17, 2014 03:03pm

NCAAW: Ball Handler or Dribbler
a. Definition. A ball handler or dribbler is any player with player control
(holding or dribbling) outside the lane area, either facing or with her back to
the basket. An arm-bar is contact with the forearm that is away from the body.

NCAAM: Section 5. Hand-Checking (Impeding the Progress of a Player)
To curtail hand-checking, officials must address it at the beginning of the game,
and related personal fouls must be called consistently throughout the game. Some
guidelines for officials to use when officiating hand-checking:
a. When a defensive player keeps a hand or forearm on an opponent, it is a
personal foul.
b. When a defensive player puts two hands on an opponent, it is a personal foul.
c. When a defensive player continually jabs by extending his arm(s) and placing
a hand or forearm on the opponent, it is a personal foul.
d. When a defensive player uses an arm bar to impede the progress of a dribbler,
it is a personal foul.


(The term is not defined, that I can see).

(Emphasis added)

walt Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:37am

From the video angle and the position of the official, one of the first things he sees is the defender's forearm coming in. If I had to guess, that is why he immediately went to a block call. Why he didn't call the arm bar, I have no idea but I think that is why he called a defensive foul. To me, this is PC whether in NCAA-W or NFHS. The forearm wasn't extended away from the body IMHO.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 18, 2014 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by walt (Post 927563)
From the video angle and the position of the official, one of the first things he sees is the defender's forearm coming in. If I had to guess, that is why he immediately went to a block call. Why he didn't call the arm bar, I have no idea but I think that is why he called a defensive foul. To me, this is PC whether in NCAA-W or NFHS. The forearm wasn't extended away from the body IMHO.

A forearm wouldn't be signaled as a block. It would be a push or illegal use of hands.

Multiple Sports Tue Mar 18, 2014 02:24pm

BNR - Right Again !!!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 927279)
Initial contact should have been a foul per the emphasis on rule 10-1-4, but at the point the whistle was blown, that should have been a PC.


Having the pleasure of working with BNR before, he is absolutley correct. There are two hands from the defender on the dribbler. That is a fouls on the defense, regardless of the adv / disadv theory .....

walt Tue Mar 18, 2014 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 927602)
A forearm wouldn't be signaled as a block. It would be a push or illegal use of hands.

Agree Camron. If the forearm is why he called the foul, only he can explain why he gave the block signal. As I have been told at camp, signal what happened.

JetMetFan Tue Mar 18, 2014 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Multiple Sports (Post 927607)
There are two hands from the defender on the dribbler.

Two hands on the dribbler? I'm not seeing that either. The defender's right arm never was involved in the play.

Also, since Bob posted the NCAAM rule book wording regarding the arm bar would this be considered use of an arm bar "to impede the progress of a dribbler?" The only "progress" the dribbler appeared to be making was towards the defender's chest.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1