The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two plays, two great calls, one official (video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97464-two-plays-two-great-calls-one-official-video.html)

AremRed Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 926668)
If it's a blocking foul regardless of being in the RA or not, there's no pointing to the RA

As JetMet and Camron have alluded to, wouldn't it be an easier sell to point to the RA even if it was a block anyway?

Nevadaref Wed Mar 12, 2014 05:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 926601)
Do you officiate games in which the RA and the LDB are used??

Yes and no. Took this year off from college games, so worked with the RA for a few years, but never the LDB.

Raymond Wed Mar 12, 2014 07:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 926696)
As JetMet and Camron have alluded to, wouldn't it be an easier sell to point to the RA even if it was a block anyway?

If you have a block, regardless of the RA, you do not point. What if your partner comes in and says that the defender actually wasn't in the RA?

APG Wed Mar 12, 2014 07:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 926696)
As JetMet and Camron have alluded to, wouldn't it be an easier sell to point to the RA even if it was a block anyway?

In this case, sure it doesn't hurt...

But as BNR alluded to, what happens if you're saying you have an RA block and your partner tells you the defender wasn't in the RA? Or your partner comes in and tells you the play started in the LDB?

Toren Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 926709)
In this case, sure it doesn't hurt...

But as BNR alluded to, what happens if you're saying you have an RA block and your partner tells you the defender wasn't in the RA? Or your partner comes in and tells you the play started in the LDB?

Glad I work on the men's side where all we have to worry about is blarges ;)

See what I did there?:rolleyes:

#olderthanilook Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 926659)
And you're older than you look...Calm down! :D

:)

AremRed Fri Mar 14, 2014 03:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 926708)
If you have a block, regardless of the RA, you do not point. What if your partner comes in and says that the defender actually wasn't in the RA?

Presumably I would only point to the RA if I was a 100% the defender was there.....which I would do anyway if it were a typical RA play.

Raymond Fri Mar 14, 2014 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 927008)
Presumably I would only point to the RA if I was a 100% the defender was there.....which I would do anyway if it were a typical RA play.

The NCAA has posted plenty of videos where officials have incorrectly pointed to the RA.

AremRed Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 927028)
The NCAA has posted plenty of videos where officials have incorrectly pointed to the RA.

Which probably result in wrong calls which happen anyway. I don't see why if you see the defenders feet in the RA, even if it's gonna be a block anyway, pointing to the RA is a bad thing.

johnny d Fri Mar 14, 2014 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 927064)
Which probably result in wrong calls which happen anyway. I don't see why if you see the defenders feet in the RA, even if it's gonna be a block anyway, pointing to the RA is a bad thing.


The problem is that pointing to the RA indicates the play would have been a PC/charge if it happened outside the RA. Pointing to the RA gives your partners the opportunity to provide information regarding the location of the defender, that they would not provide if you just call a block. If you are then presented with evidence that the defender was indeed outside the RA, you are going to have a hard time justifying not changing the call to PC/charge and explaining to the coach that it would have been a block anywhere on the court, you were just too lazy to use the correct mechanic.

AremRed Fri Mar 14, 2014 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 927076)
The problem is that pointing to the RA indicates the play would have been a PC/charge if it happened outside the RA. Pointing to the RA gives your partners the opportunity to provide information regarding the location of the defender, that they would not provide if you just call a block. If you are then presented with evidence that the defender was indeed outside the RA, you are going to have a hard time justifying not changing the call to PC/charge and explaining to the coach that it would have been a block anywhere on the court, you were just too lazy to use the correct mechanic.

Ok, I understand now. Not pointing to the RA leaves open the option of your partner(s) coming with info.

Raymond Fri Mar 14, 2014 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 927089)
Ok, I understand now. Not pointing to the RA leaves open the option of your partner(s) coming with info.

If you don't point to the RA, partners have no information to bring; you are calling a block b/c of illegal contact by the defender.

If you point to the RA, you are saying that normally it would be a PC, but b/c the defender was in the RA it is, by rule, a block.

The most likely time a partner will bring information is if you call a PC and the defender was in the RA.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1