The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two plays, two great calls, one official (video) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97464-two-plays-two-great-calls-one-official-video.html)

rockyroad Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 926243)
Due to the thread title, I expected to see two difficult decisions in the video.
However, the first one is really nothing more than an out of bounds call--just a matter of looking for where the player's foot is--and the second is a routine unsporting T.

I would expect most competent HS officials to be able to get these plays correct, although there is some adapting that must be done to work with the RA.

Do you officiate games in which the RA and the LDB are used??

tjones1 Tue Mar 11, 2014 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 926233)
First call was a block with or without the RA but using the RA as the reason pretty much eliminates any question about the judgement.

Agree. This was my first thought.

jeremy341a Tue Mar 11, 2014 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 926600)
Agreed. Most players have no business trying to block a shot anyway.

I agree. Back when I was coaching I remember saying "get trying to block shots and actually play defense." Actually I remember saying it a lot every day.

constable Tue Mar 11, 2014 03:10pm

As goofy as it sounds in FIBA by rule that RA play would be a no-call.

Toren Tue Mar 11, 2014 03:31pm

In the NCAA-W game, is it the case that if you have a block, because the defense didn't establish LGP in time, you do NOT point to the RA?

In other words, if it's a block, it's a block. If it would have been a PC, but the player was in the RA, then you point to the RA?

I'm wondering cause in this case, she points to the RA, but as many have said this was a block regardless. So although I like how strong and commanding the call is, the point may not have been needed.

Maineac Tue Mar 11, 2014 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 926650)
In the NCAA-W game, is it the case that if you have a block, because the defense didn't establish LGP in time, you do NOT point to the RA?

In other words, if it's a block, it's a block. If it would have been a PC, but the player was in the RA, then you point to the RA?

I'm wondering cause in this case, she points to the RA, but as many have said this was a block regardless. So although I like how strong and commanding the call is, the point may not have been needed.

If the foul occurred in the RA and the move to the basket started outside the LDB as this one did, you indicate such just as the official in the video did. Block signal followed by a point at the RA. The block outside the RA would just be a block signal.

rockyroad Tue Mar 11, 2014 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 926650)
In the NCAA-W game, is it the case that if you have a block, because the defense didn't establish LGP in time, you do NOT point to the RA?

In other words, if it's a block, it's a block. If it would have been a PC, but the player was in the RA, then you point to the RA?

I'm wondering cause in this case, she points to the RA, but as many have said this was a block regardless. So although I like how strong and commanding the call is, the point may not have been needed.

It is a communication tool, telling the Coach (and everyone else) that LGP, being "set", or any of that other stuff really doesn't matter because it is an RA play.

Camron Rust Tue Mar 11, 2014 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 926654)
It is a communication tool, telling the Coach (and everyone else) that LGP, being "set", or any of that other stuff really doesn't matter because it is an RA play.

Agree. Going with RA over a block takes most of the judgement out of the decision. They're in the RA or not and there isn't much that can be disputed about it.

#olderthanilook Tue Mar 11, 2014 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 926237)
I worked with her at camp last year. She is a great official, and is awesome to work with!

I'm in love.....:o

JetMetFan Tue Mar 11, 2014 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by #olderthanilook (Post 926657)
I'm in love.....:o

And you're older than you look...Calm down! :D

Toren Tue Mar 11, 2014 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 926655)
Agree. Going with RA over a block takes most of the judgement out of the decision. They're in the RA or not and there isn't much that can be disputed about it.

In NCAA-M, if it's in the RA but it would have been a block outside the RA, then we don't point.

Just FYI.

So I was curious about the call in NCAA-W.

Thanks.

APG Tue Mar 11, 2014 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 926650)
In the NCAA-W game, is it the case that if you have a block, because the defense didn't establish LGP in time, you do NOT point to the RA?

In other words, if it's a block, it's a block. If it would have been a PC, but the player was in the RA, then you point to the RA?

I'm wondering cause in this case, she points to the RA, but as many have said this was a block regardless. So although I like how strong and commanding the call is, the point may not have been needed.

The way an NCAA-W official explained it to me:

If it's a blocking foul regardless of being in the RA or not, there's no pointing to the RA

If it's a blocking foul solely because the defender is in the RA (as in the defender, absent of the RA, would have obtained LGP), you point to the RA. This tells everyone the play is a RA blocking foul and also gives your partners an opportunity to give any additional information if needed (as in hey the player originated in the LDB so the RA shouldn't come into play...or the defender was outside the RA).

So on this play, I don't think the the point was technically necessary as the defender was late anyway.

FYI, the mechanics above are the NBA mechanics for RA plays.

Toren Tue Mar 11, 2014 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 926668)
The way an NCAA-W official explained it to me:

If it's a blocking foul regardless of being in the RA or not, there's no pointing to the RA

If it's a blocking foul solely because the defender is in the RA (as in the defender, absent of the RA, would have obtained LGP), you point to the RA. This tells everyone the play is a RA blocking foul and also gives your partners an opportunity to give any additional information if needed (as in hey the player originated in the LDB so the RA shouldn't come into play...or the defender was outside the RA).

So on this play, I don't think the the point was technically necessary as the defender was late anyway.

FYI, the mechanics above are the NBA mechanics for RA plays.


So now I wonder if she would have ruled PC if it had been outside the RA?:confused:

bob jenkins Tue Mar 11, 2014 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 926650)
In the NCAA-W game, is it the case that if you have a block, because the defense didn't establish LGP in time, you do NOT point to the RA?

In other words, if it's a block, it's a block. If it would have been a PC, but the player was in the RA, then you point to the RA?

I'm wondering cause in this case, she points to the RA, but as many have said this was a block regardless. So although I like how strong and commanding the call is, the point may not have been needed.

Your first two paragraphs are supposed to be the proper mechanic. Maybe the lead had a charge, except for the arc. When I slow it down, I don't think it's an obvious block without the RA.

JetMetFan Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:27pm

She didn't have to point if she was going to rule it a block regardless but as was mentioned before she might have done it just to remove any dispute. It's not wrong in any way since the defender had a foot in the RA, just extra.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1