The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 15, 2014, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
I don't disagree with you. In general why is the T for hanging on the rim not called very much anymore? I've only seen it called once this year and that was an easy call in th Minnesota/Wisconsin game on Thursday night.
This one is hard for me to say it should or should not be a T for hanging on the rim. There are two players under him when he initially hangs on the rim, which rules out the T. My issue is that the area where he can safely come down has cleared out and he is still hanging on the rim. At what point does the safety aspect of the rule (which is a good rule IMO), end and when does the showing off portion of the rule begin?

I agree with not calling a T for the fans storming the court. If the players left the bench area though, prior to the fans storming the court we have a potential issue. If the players left the bench after the fans stormed the court you have an easy argument for not issuing a T for the safety of the players.

I would add this. The Pac 12 should sanction ASU for the fans storming the court. This shouldn't be a game official action, but it should be a post-game situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 15, 2014, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
A pull up IS NOT hanging on the rim for safety. It's a PULL UP. That's a T.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 15, 2014, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post

I agree with not calling a T for the fans storming the court. If the players left the bench area though, prior to the fans storming the court we have a potential issue. If the players left the bench after the fans stormed the court you have an easy argument for not issuing a T for the safety of the players.
Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 15, 2014, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
Watch the play again, ASU players were on the court PRIOR to the player finishing his dribble PRIOR to leaving the floor to dunk the ball.

I understand why the NCAA-M rule states that no T should be issued unless the players entering the floor prevent the opponent from making the ball live after a score. What I don't understand is that if, earlier in the game, a single player runs onto the floor during play (live ball/dead ball) a T would be issued. Why then, is the same T NOT issued at/near end of the gameIf you want to simply adjus the rules in the last 2:00 of the game (ala the NBA), just say so.
A.R. 263:

Team B leads, 67-66. A1's two-point try for goal is successful, but there is no indication that time has expired. Assuming that the successful try was a game-ending and winning goal:

(1) Bench personnel from Team A; or

(2) Fans from Team A go onto the playing court to celebrate.

RULING: When the celebration causes a delay by preventing the ball from being promptly made live or by preventing continuous play including, but not limited to the following: a) when the thrower-in is in the process of carrying the ball out of bounds for a throw-in; b) attempting the throw-in; or c) has completed the throw-in.

(1) A CLASS B technical foul shall be assessed to the head coach. The coach's technical foul does not count toward the team foul total but does count toward the coach's ejection.

(Rule 10-4.2.h and Penalty and Ejection)

(2) An administrative technical foul shall be assessed to the offending team. This technical foul does not apply to the team foul total. Any player from Team B shall attempt the two free throws and play shall resume at the point of interruption. When the celebration does not delay or interfere with play, the celebration shall be ignored.

When there is no delay in putting the ball in play or any interruption in the continuity of the game, officials should allow play to continue without penalty. When play can be stopped before the ball is at the disposal of Team B and without delaying the ball from being put in to play or interrupting the continuity of play, the official shall sound the whistle, clear the floor and resume the game without assessing any penalty.

(Rule 10-2.8.d and Penalty, and Section 10-2 Penalty)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game over? (video) JetMetFan Basketball 12 Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:59am
Video request: OVC Title game Murray St. vs. Belmont (Video Added) JRutledge Basketball 8 Sat Mar 23, 2013 06:18pm
Video: end of game tomegun Basketball 33 Wed May 23, 2012 07:08pm
video from my game last night stripes Basketball 20 Mon Mar 08, 2010 05:20pm
Game video Rich Basketball 26 Tue Mar 03, 2009 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1