The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Reset the clock? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97277-reset-clock.html)

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:03pm

Reset the clock?
 
On jump ball to start the game, A1 possess the ball with their initial touch and passes to a teammate. At the time of the whistle, the clock shows 7:58. Should a change be made so that the clock is back at 8:00 as the initial touch which should start the clock caused the violation or should some time come off so the clock should actually read 759 or do you leave it? Please site a rule or case play for support.
Thanks

BillyMac Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:14pm

Who Knows All The Jump Ball Rules Anymore ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922859)
On jump ball to start the game, A1 possess the ball with their initial touch and passes to a teammate. At the time of the whistle, the clock shows 7:58. Should a change be made so that the clock is back at 8:00 as the initial touch which should start the clock caused the violation ...

Clock starts with a legal touch.

5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started
when the tossed ball is legally touched.

Reset to 8:00.

Nevadaref Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 922866)
Clock starts with a legal touch.

5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started
when the tossed ball is legally touched.

Reset to 8:00.

No, Billy. The touch itself is legal as it is not a punch or a kick.
The fact that the catching of the ball violates the restrictions of the jump ball causes an infraction and a whistle.
Therefore, the clock properly starts on the touch and stops on the whistle for the violation. Leave the clock at 7:58.

This situation is analogous to a throw-in in which the player receiving the pass is standing with a foot on a boundary line. The touch is legal, but the contact with the boundary is not. The game clock should start and then stop.

BillyMac Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:28pm

Illegal Tap ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 922871)
No, Billy. The touch itself is legal as it is not a punch or a kick.
The fact that the catching of the ball violates the restrictions of the jump ball causes an infraction and a whistle.
Therefore, the clock properly starts on the touch and stops on the whistle for the violation. Leave the clock at 7:58.

Right, or wrong, we've always (33 years, which, by itself, doesn't make it right) reset the clock when a jumper hits the ball on the way up. It figured that the same applied it one of the jumpers caught the ball instead of tapping it, although I've never actually seen the play.

Nevadaref: Your answer sounds good, but I'd like to hear others' opinions.

Rich Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:31pm

I'd reset the clock if he catches the toss. If he tips it and then catches it, I'd leave the clock where it's stopped.

BillyMac Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:32pm

Confused In Connecticut ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 922871)
... a throw-in in which the player receiving the pass is standing with a foot on a boundary line. The touch is legal, but the contact with the boundary is not. The game clock should start and then stop.

So if the throwin doesn't touch anything except the wall, the clock should start? Or what if it hits a coach? Or a fan? Or an out of bounds official? Why does hitting a player out of bounds make the starting, or not starting, of the clock any different?

7-1-2: The ball is out of bounds:
a. When it touches or is touched by:
1. A player who is out of bounds.
2. Any other person, the floor, or any object on or outside a boundary.
3. The supports or back of the backboard.
4. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.

5-9-4: If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by
the thrower.

BillyMac Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:35pm

Is It Tip, Or Tap ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 922876)
If he tips it and then catches it, I'd leave the clock where it's stopped.

Because it's a legal tip.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 922871)
No, Billy. The touch itself is legal as it is not a punch or a kick.
The fact that the catching of the ball violates the restrictions of the jump ball causes an infraction and a whistle.
Therefore, the clock properly starts on the touch and stops on the whistle for the violation. Leave the clock at 7:58.

This situation is analogous to a throw-in in which the player receiving the pass is standing with a foot on a boundary line. The touch is legal, but the contact with the boundary is not. The game clock should start and then stop.

Nevada, how is the touch legal? The jumper grabbed the ball with two hands. My understanding is that this is illegal.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 14, 2014 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922883)
Nevada, how is the touch legal? The jumper grabbed the ball with two hands. My understanding is that this is illegal.

In most cases the player will have touched the ball prior to grasping the ball.

APG Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:48pm

Put me in the camp of resetting it to 8:00

just another ref Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:57pm

I have never seen a jumper "possess the ball with the initial touch." I see that as practically impossible to do on a properly tossed ball.

APG Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 922913)
I have never seen a jumper "possess the ball with the initial touch." I see that as practically impossible to do on a properly tossed ball.

I've seen both jumpers initially miss the ball on the first jump...then one of the jumpers catch the ball on the way down.

just another ref Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 922914)
I've seen both jumpers initially miss the ball on the first jump...then one of the jumpers catch the ball on the way down.

I've seen that, too. Often because the toss was too high or was before the jumpers were ready.

Rich Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 922915)
I've seen that, too. Often because the toss was too high or was before the jumpers were ready.

No such thing as "too high." That just means they didn't time their jump properly.

just another ref Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 922935)
No such thing as "too high."

Strictly speaking there isn't, but if it hits the ceiling, it's too high.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1