The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97260-weird-situation.html)

Adam Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922693)
So what if you know there was... say... .2 seconds on the clock when he was fouled. Do you then count the basket? But if the clock was out when he got the shot off, would the time of the foul matter?


Oh, I don't care about stats, so I didn't mean to go there with that. I was only speaking in terms of how we handle things.

If you have definite knowledge of the time on the clock when he was fouled, then you would put the time on the clock and count the basket, regardless of whether the horn sounded prior to the release.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922693)
So what if you know there was... say... .2 seconds on the clock when he was fouled. Do you then count the basket? But if the clock was out when he got the shot off, would the time of the foul matter?

Yes. That basket would count since time didn't really expire. The horn erroneously sounded.

Technically, the clock should stop at the exact time of the foul. In practice, there will always be a bit of delay between the foul and the whistle and then from the whistle to the stopping of the clock. If you know how much time was on the clock when the whistle sounded, then you can put that back.

A slow whistle at the end of the game can disadvantage a team if time ultimately expires by the time you put air into the whistle for a foul and they can't get the shot off. The presence of the foul may have been the reason they couldn't get the shot off in time. If we call that foul when it actually occurs, the offended player will not get the shorted a shot they deserved.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:57pm

Thanks, guys

Mregor Thu Feb 13, 2014 09:56pm

I don't necessarily have BI. You say, As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net..

What's the intent of the rule? If the ball is through the basket but still in bottom of net, did touching net affect the ball? As I see this in my head, ball is in bottom of net and I got nothing. If still on rim, obviously yet but from what I read in your post I say count basket, shoot one. Warn A player he could have been called for BI if he touched net before ball went through. If I'm reading it wrong, then my reply would be different.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 922703)
I don't necessarily have BI. You say, As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net..

What's the intent of the rule? If the ball is through the basket but still in bottom of net, did touching net affect the ball?

Probably not, but you can't know that. Until it drops through, it has the possibility of getting flipped back out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 922703)
As I see this in my head, ball is in bottom of net and I got nothing. If still on rim, obviously yet but from what I read in your post I say count basket, shoot one. Warn A player he could have been called for BI if he touched net before ball went through. If I'm reading it wrong, then my reply would be different.

Practically, I'm probably doing nothing if it is falling through the bottom of the net....but if is still up in the net, it has to be BI.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 922733)
Probably not, but you can't know that. Until it drops through, it has the possibility of getting flipped back out.



Practically, I'm probably doing nothing if it is falling through the bottom of the net....but if is still up in the net, it has to be BI.

Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922867)
Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

Not L. L should not be looking up at the basket (at least in the half-court game)

Rich Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922867)
Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

The outside guys better get 99.9999999% of these.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 922874)
Not L. L should not be looking up at the basket (at least in the half-court game)

My mistake, I actually meant C or T. Does one have more responsibility or is it shared between both.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 14, 2014 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922885)
My mistake, I actually meant C or T. Does one have more responsibility or is it shared between both.

In general, it falls on whoever does NOT have the shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1