The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97260-weird-situation.html)

DjSpaceCaptain Thu Feb 13, 2014 03:21am

Weird situation
 
Have not been able to get a 'correct' answer when asking officials from my association. What do you guys think?

Ball handler goes up for a lay up and gets fouled. As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net a team mate of the ball handler jumps up and pulls on the net.

Obviously there is basket interference and no points is awarded, but does the player get one foul shot or two?

just another ref Thu Feb 13, 2014 03:29am

If you wave off the basket, he gets two free throws. I know what the rule says, but I personally have never seen basket interference called on either team for touching the net, and I wouldn't want to be the first. I'm interested to see what others say about that part.

AremRed Thu Feb 13, 2014 04:45am

If the ball has already passed through the ring and is in the net, then I am scoring the basket. Gotta use some common sense, but if the pulling down changes the path of the ball then wipe it off and give the kid two FT's and tell the coach the teammate made a stupid play.

MD Longhorn Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:07am

If you're calling the BI, then the basket was missed. Two shots.

stick Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DjSpaceCaptain (Post 922573)
Have not been able to get a 'correct' answer when asking officials from my association. What do you guys think?

Ball handler goes up for a lay up and gets fouled. As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net a team mate of the ball handler jumps up and pulls on the net.

Obviously there is basket interference and no points is awarded, but does the player get one foul shot or two?

Players cannot pull the net for any reason whatsoever. On your play I have basket interference. No basket, but the foul still stands. Player is shooting 2 free throws.

yooperbballref Thu Feb 13, 2014 01:05pm

Had something like this last week. Time running out in the 1st quarter with team A on a fast break. While A1 was in his shooting motion he was fouled before the horn sounded.
The weird situation came in when the ball was still in his had when the horn when off, and when he did shoot it the ball went in. We ended up waving off the basket but sending the player to the line to shoot 2 shots.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yooperbballref (Post 922633)
Had something like this last week. Time running out in the 1st quarter with team A on a fast break. While A1 was in his shooting motion he was fouled before the horn sounded.
The weird situation came in when the ball was still in his had when the horn when off, and when he did shoot it the ball went in. We ended up waving off the basket but sending the player to the line to shoot 2 shots.

Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule? I mean, how can you have a foul on an airborne shooter if the result of the shot doesn't matter? Or is that just the rule?

DjSpaceCaptain Thu Feb 13, 2014 04:51pm

Thanks everyone that is kinda what i thought. At the time, I was the one who called the foul and my partner was the one who called the basket good and the basket interference. He chose to give only one foul shot because we didn't know. The shooting team was up by 20 ish so it did not matter only having one shot.

Rich Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922674)
Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule? I mean, how can you have a foul on an airborne shooter if the result of the shot doesn't matter? Or is that just the rule?

No. If the shot isn't released before the horn, it cannot count.

BillyMac Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:22pm

Continuous Motion At The End Of A Period ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922674)
Wouldn't you still count the basket here, under the "continuous motion" rule?

No. The ball was still in his hand when the horn sounded. He's still get his free throws, with no rebounders along the lane, but the field goal won't count if the ball goes in.

If the ball had been released, and in the air, when the horn sounded, then the field goal would count, if the ball went in, and one free throw, with no rebounders, would be given to the shooter.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 922682)
No. If the shot isn't released before the horn, it cannot count.

That makes sense, it just seems odd that you can having free throws for a shooting foul if the shot itself doesn't count. Seems to me that either the shot counts and you have the free throws, or the shot doesn't count and there are no free throws.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 922683)
No. The ball was still in his hand when the horn sounded. He's still get his free throws, with no rebounders along the lane, but the field goal won't count if the ball goes in.

If the ball had been released, and in the air, when the horn sounded, then the field goal would count, if the ball went in, and one free throw, with no rebounders, would be given to the shooter.

Okay. Just checking.

He was fouled in the act of shooting, therefore he gets free throws. However, since the ball wasn't released until after the horn sounded it's counted as a missed shot.

APG Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922685)
Okay. Just checking.

He was fouled in the act of shooting, therefore he gets free throws. However, since the ball wasn't released until after the horn sounded it's counted as a missed shot.

That's assuming you don't have definite knowledge as to how much time was on the clock when the foul occurred.

Adam Thu Feb 13, 2014 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922685)
Okay. Just checking.

He was fouled in the act of shooting, therefore he gets free throws. However, since the ball wasn't released until after the horn sounded it's counted as a missed shot.

I wasn't aware missed shots counted against stats if the shooter was fouled.

Then again, I couldn't care less about stats.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 922687)
That's assuming you don't have definite knowledge as to how much time was on the clock when the foul occurred.

So what if you know there was... say... .2 seconds on the clock when he was fouled. Do you then count the basket? But if the clock was out when he got the shot off, would the time of the foul matter?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 922688)
I wasn't aware missed shots counted against stats if the shooter was fouled.

Then again, I couldn't care less about stats.

Oh, I don't care about stats, so I didn't mean to go there with that. I was only speaking in terms of how we handle things.

Adam Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922693)
So what if you know there was... say... .2 seconds on the clock when he was fouled. Do you then count the basket? But if the clock was out when he got the shot off, would the time of the foul matter?


Oh, I don't care about stats, so I didn't mean to go there with that. I was only speaking in terms of how we handle things.

If you have definite knowledge of the time on the clock when he was fouled, then you would put the time on the clock and count the basket, regardless of whether the horn sounded prior to the release.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 922693)
So what if you know there was... say... .2 seconds on the clock when he was fouled. Do you then count the basket? But if the clock was out when he got the shot off, would the time of the foul matter?

Yes. That basket would count since time didn't really expire. The horn erroneously sounded.

Technically, the clock should stop at the exact time of the foul. In practice, there will always be a bit of delay between the foul and the whistle and then from the whistle to the stopping of the clock. If you know how much time was on the clock when the whistle sounded, then you can put that back.

A slow whistle at the end of the game can disadvantage a team if time ultimately expires by the time you put air into the whistle for a foul and they can't get the shot off. The presence of the foul may have been the reason they couldn't get the shot off in time. If we call that foul when it actually occurs, the offended player will not get the shorted a shot they deserved.

BryanV21 Thu Feb 13, 2014 08:57pm

Thanks, guys

Mregor Thu Feb 13, 2014 09:56pm

I don't necessarily have BI. You say, As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net..

What's the intent of the rule? If the ball is through the basket but still in bottom of net, did touching net affect the ball? As I see this in my head, ball is in bottom of net and I got nothing. If still on rim, obviously yet but from what I read in your post I say count basket, shoot one. Warn A player he could have been called for BI if he touched net before ball went through. If I'm reading it wrong, then my reply would be different.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 922703)
I don't necessarily have BI. You say, As the ball is going inside the hoop/net and before it leaves the net..

What's the intent of the rule? If the ball is through the basket but still in bottom of net, did touching net affect the ball?

Probably not, but you can't know that. Until it drops through, it has the possibility of getting flipped back out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mregor (Post 922703)
As I see this in my head, ball is in bottom of net and I got nothing. If still on rim, obviously yet but from what I read in your post I say count basket, shoot one. Warn A player he could have been called for BI if he touched net before ball went through. If I'm reading it wrong, then my reply would be different.

Practically, I'm probably doing nothing if it is falling through the bottom of the net....but if is still up in the net, it has to be BI.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 922733)
Probably not, but you can't know that. Until it drops through, it has the possibility of getting flipped back out.



Practically, I'm probably doing nothing if it is falling through the bottom of the net....but if is still up in the net, it has to be BI.

Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922867)
Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

Not L. L should not be looking up at the basket (at least in the half-court game)

Rich Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922867)
Follow up question to the BI/ GT, in 3-man, who has this call? L, T, or either?

The outside guys better get 99.9999999% of these.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 14, 2014 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 922874)
Not L. L should not be looking up at the basket (at least in the half-court game)

My mistake, I actually meant C or T. Does one have more responsibility or is it shared between both.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 14, 2014 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 922885)
My mistake, I actually meant C or T. Does one have more responsibility or is it shared between both.

In general, it falls on whoever does NOT have the shooter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1