The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Backcourt ruling?

I cannot find the ruling in the book or a scenario of any similar plays that would help me clarifies whether this is backcourt or not.

A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt. A1 then passes the ball which gets deflected by B1 into the air and crosses the midcourt line but before the ball touches the floor A1 runs to the backcourt and catches the ball before it hits the floor. Is this backcourt or not?

The trail official gives the new tip mechanic to let everyone know that the ball is fair game to either player.

I say its backcourt but my partner said no because it was tipped by the defensive player.
If this is a backcourt violation can you please give me a reference that supports the ruling.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 09:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
In order for it to be a violation it has to be last touched by the offense in the FC and first touched by the offense in BC, in spite of a recent interp to the contrary. This was not the case in your play.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
My understanding is that the ball is still in front court status since it did not touch the floor. Once A1 catches the ball, he is now the first and last person to touch it therefore, its backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
My understanding is that the ball is still in front court status since it did not touch the floor. Once A1 catches the ball, he is now the first and last person to touch it therefore, its backcourt.
Who was the last to touch the ball in the FC? The defense. A player cannot be FC and BC at the same time.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2014, 10:36pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
You just have to ask yourself two questions...

1. Who, the offense or defense, was the last to touch the ball in the FC?

2. Who, the offense or defense, was the first to touch the ball in the BC?

If the answer to both of those questions is the offense, then you have yourself a violation. If not... play on.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
My understanding is that the ball is still in front court status since it did not touch the floor. Once A1 catches the ball, he is now the first and last person to touch it therefore, its backcourt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Who was the last to touch the ball in the FC? The defense. A player cannot be FC and BC at the same time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
You just have to ask yourself two questions...

1. Who, the offense or defense, was the last to touch the ball in the FC?

2. Who, the offense or defense, was the first to touch the ball in the BC?

If the answer to both of those questions is the offense, then you have yourself a violation. If not... play on.
All of you are making the same error.

The rule is not who is the last to touch the ball IN the frontcourt but who was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gained backcourt status (not when it gained backcourt status).

Likewise, it is about who is the first to touch the ball AFTER it gains backcourt status, not who is the first to touch the ball IN the backcourt.

Much of the time, it it the same thing, but not always....and the difference matters. Plus, the difference is why the above play is not a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Frankly, I wouldn't hold it against anyone either way. Aside from the interp, though (which is how old now?), there's no justification for calling this a violation. In fact, the rule is quite clearly the opposite.

It's as if they added an interpretation that stated it was a travel to lift the pivot foot. It's contrary to the rule as written.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
It's as if they added an interpretation that stated it was a travel to lift the pivot foot. It's contrary to the rule as written.
And sometimes it is.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
And sometimes it is.
Never without any further action.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:39pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
And sometimes it is.
When?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
When?
4-43-3 c

But let's not digress...we were just playing word games.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
But let's not digress...
Too late.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2014, 03:56pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
4-43-3 c

But let's not digress...we were just playing word games.
I figured that's what you meant.

That is Adam's whole point though (at least I think it is), just lifting the pivot is not a travel. An interpretation saying as much would be the same as this interpretation on backcourt.

(And it's 4-44-3-c this year )
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt ruling (NHFS rules) xxssmen Basketball 17 Wed Mar 14, 2007 01:35pm
backcourt ruling during a game question 81artmonk Basketball 3 Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:22am
Backcourt ruling ditttoo Basketball 16 Sun Jan 23, 2005 06:41pm
Ruling? Scotto Baseball 4 Fri Nov 14, 2003 07:16pm
Ruling PLease sm_bbcoach Baseball 5 Sat Jul 12, 2003 05:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1