The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   dead ball technicals (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97167-dead-ball-technicals.html)

howie719 Sat Feb 01, 2014 05:15pm

dead ball technicals
 
A1 gets rebound. B1 and B2 are defending. B1 fouls A1 right as B2 ties up ball. B2 continues and tosses A1 to floor. Team A is in bonus 1 and 1. I call TF on B2. A1 shoots bonus, then TF . We spot ball nearest the foul. Can a dead ball technical also be intentional? Or could have anyone shot TF and ball at division line.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 01, 2014 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by howie719 (Post 920903)
A1 gets rebound. B1 and B2 are defending. B1 fouls A1 right as B2 ties up ball. B2 continues and tosses A1 to floor. Team A is in bonus 1 and 1. I call TF on B2. A1 shoots bonus, then TF . We spot ball nearest the foul. Can a dead ball technical also be intentional? Or could have anyone shot TF and ball at division line.

A dead ball foul that involves contact is always an intentionla technical foul or a flagrant technical foul.

All technical fouls can be shot by (almost*) anyone on the team and the ball is (almost**) always onbounded at the division line.

* - any eligible player or sub
** -- unless there's some other act that follows

Adam Sat Feb 01, 2014 06:13pm

Ts are always two shots and the ball at the division line (NFHS).

River Ref Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:56pm

Wow! but this could be a game changing play. A1 hits both of the 1 n 1s and then A_ hits both tech free throws followed by team A throw-in.

Ref16 Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by River Ref (Post 920916)
Wow! but this could be a game changing play. A1 hits both of the 1 n 1s and then A_ hits both tech free throws followed by team A throw-in.

Uncalled for contact after the whistle=Technical foul...not our concern as officials, we enforce the rules. It could most def be a game changing play, so hopefully the player who decided to throw a guy to the ground after the fact will learn his lesson and not make another boneheaded decision that could put his team in that situation again.

Rich Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by River Ref (Post 920916)
Wow! but this could be a game changing play.

So?

Welpe Sun Feb 02, 2014 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by River Ref (Post 920916)
Wow! but this could be a game changing play. A1 hits both of the 1 n 1s and then A_ hits both tech free throws followed by team A throw-in.

Good incentive to not be knuckleheads.

deecee Sun Feb 02, 2014 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by River Ref (Post 920916)
Wow! but this could be a game changing play. A1 hits both of the 1 n 1s and then A_ hits both tech free throws followed by team A throw-in.

I had a varsity game this year with 2 T's in similar situations for players attitude in the last 90 seconds of the game. Each time it was double bonus, T's then the ball. The team that got the T's lost by 3.

JRutledge Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 920907)
Ts are always two shots and the ball at the division line (NFHS).

Dead ball contact fouls are treated that way as well at the NCAA Men's level.

Peace

j51969 Mon Feb 03, 2014 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920904)
A dead ball foul that involves contact is always an intentionla technical foul or a flagrant technical foul.

All technical fouls can be shot by (almost*) anyone on the team and the ball is (almost**) always onbounded at the division line.

* - any eligible player or sub
** -- unless there's some other act that follows

Bob,

I am racking my brain, but can't come up with one. What sitch. are you imagining happening that would spot ball elsewhere?

bob jenkins Mon Feb 03, 2014 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 921072)
Bob,

I am racking my brain, but can't come up with one. What sitch. are you imagining happening that would spot ball elsewhere?

I was really thinking "by the team that shot" when I wrote this -- so there could be another T and B could inbound.

Or, the T could happen at the end of the game and there might not be a throw-in at all.

j51969 Mon Feb 03, 2014 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 921077)
I was really thinking "by the team that shot" when I wrote this -- so there could be another T and B could inbound.

Or, the T could happen at the end of the game and there might not be a throw-in at all.

Roger

Adam Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by j51969 (Post 921072)
Bob,

I am racking my brain, but can't come up with one. What sitch. are you imagining happening that would spot ball elsewhere?

It's possible to have a false double foul where the first is the T and the second is a personal foul.

Not in any way likely, but possible.

RulesGeek Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 921083)
It's possible to have a false double foul where the first is the T and the second is a personal foul.

Not in any way likely, but possible.


OK... now I'm racking my brain. After the T, the ball will be dead. Since any contact during a dead ball is ignored or a T, how can there be a T followed by a personal? What am I missing?

deecee Mon Feb 03, 2014 10:59am

A1 closely guarding B1, comments on B1's mom's clothing choices.

The other side of the court an illegal screen is set.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1