The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did I handle correctly ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97158-did-i-handle-correctly.html)

CountTheBasket Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920764)
The only thing the book says is "administer at the nearest spot." Since they can run, does it really matter?

And, if you switch sides because the offense wants you to switch, what do you do if the defense then complains that they had a defense set to force the ball into a specific corner?

Most places don't allow you to bounce across; and I'd never give the ball to the player in the lane extended.

Both times I've had it happened it was still during the timeout and I went and told the other team. I did think to myself what if they broke the huddles and asked. As Bob said they can run across anyway what's the big deal, just a "common sense and fair play" type scenario I suppose.

AremRed Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920735)
Team A coach is very upset b/c he had drawn up the play for throw in just about 10 feet off of mid court

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 920745)
Team A assistant asked me where the ball would be for the throw in and I told him

If you told the team A assistant the throw-in location and he didn't tell his head coach, it's his own fault. Put the ball in where indicated originally. I'm sure the coach will pay better attention next time.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 920759)
Team A makes a basket then calls time out. When you administer on the end line to B after the time out and they can "run the end line" where can you administer at at where can't you? Do you always start them near and end line and have them move after it is at their disposal? Can they request the ball midway between the lane line and the sideline? What if they want the ball right under neath the basket (I have always made them move out)?

By rule, the team has the entire endline. So the team member may begin anywhere along the endline. It would be improper for an official to insist that a player begin the throw-in at any particular location. There is no rules justification for that.
This isn't a designated spot throw-in.

Rich Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920917)
By rule, the team has the entire endline. So the team member may begin anywhere along the endline. It would be improper for an official to insist that a player begin the throw-in at any particular location. There is no rules justification for that.
This isn't a designated spot throw-in.

I agree from a rules standpoint, but from a mechanics standpoint I'm not administering the ball while he's in the lane extended. He can go exactly where he wants as soon as I deliver the ball.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920764)
The only thing the book says is "administer at the nearest spot." Since they can run, does it really matter?

Nope, any location desired by the team is okay.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920764)
And, if you switch sides because the offense wants you to switch, what do you do if the defense then complains that they had a defense set to force the ball into a specific corner?

Not worry about such a complaint because BY RULE the offense can go anywhere along the endline they wish. The defense needs to be prepared to defend the throw-in from any and all such locations.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920764)
Most places don't allow you to bounce across;

In those areas the administering official needs to move. Hopefully that isn't a physical challenge to the officiating crew.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920764)
and I'd never give the ball to the player in the lane extended.

In this instance you should. The player has every right to throw the ball from there under these circumstances. Nothing in the book states that he can't start there too!

Rich Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:04am

This is all academic, of course, since in 27 years of officiating I've never had someone ask for me to move to a different "spot."

Rob1968 Sun Feb 02, 2014 02:36am

Left Hash Mark
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920922)
This is all academic, of course, since in 27 years of officiating I've never had someone ask for me to move to a different "spot."

Only on extra point attempts . . . oops, I've got the Super Bowl on my mind . . .

Nevadaref Sun Feb 02, 2014 04:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920918)
I agree from a rules standpoint, but from a mechanics standpoint I'm not administering the ball while he's in the lane extended. He can go exactly where he wants as soon as I deliver the ball.

Since BY RULE the team has the right to execute the throw-in from any point along the endline following a goal (or awarded score) by the opponent, you would be dead wrong to refuse to administer the ball at his desired location. To force him to come to where you want and then have to move to his desired location during the five-second count unfairly takes time away from his team and has no rules support.

You may disagree with how I recommend to handle certain situations during a high school basketball game, such as penalizing a team for actions of the spectators, but everything that I advise doing isn't just because I like or don't like something, it can be supported by the rules.

Camron Rust Sun Feb 02, 2014 05:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920936)
Since BY RULE the team has the right to executive the throw-in from any point along the endline following a goal (or awarded score) by the opponent, you would be dead wrong to refuse to administer the ball at his desired location. To force him to come to where you want and then have to move to his desired location during the five-second count unfairly takes time away from his team and has no rules support.

You may disagree with how I recommend to handle certain situations during a high school basketball game, such as penalizing a team for actions of the spectators, but everything that I advise doing isn't just because I like or don't like something, it can be supported by the rules.

I disagree. All the rule grants the player is the right to make the throwin from anywhere along the line. There is nothing in the rule that says anything about where they must or get to start such a throwin. It just gives them the right to move elsewhere.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 02, 2014 05:23am

Camron,
You know the guiding principle that whatever is not prohibited by the rules is allowed. So barring a rule which prohibits the player from getting the ball in a certain location, we need to permit it.
What's the big deal? Just throw him the ball.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 02, 2014 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920922)
This is all academic, of course, since in 27 years of officiating I've never had someone ask for me to move to a different "spot."

Despite this, it's the type of play that leads to long, protracted discussions whenever it comes up in an association meeting.

Rich Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 920944)
Despite this, it's the type of play that leads to long, protracted discussions whenever it comes up in an association meeting.

That's the fault of the person running the meeting, no?

Rich Sun Feb 02, 2014 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920936)
Since BY RULE the team has the right to execute the throw-in from any point along the endline following a goal (or awarded score) by the opponent, you would be dead wrong to refuse to administer the ball at his desired location. To force him to come to where you want and then have to move to his desired location during the five-second count unfairly takes time away from his team and has no rules support.

You may disagree with how I recommend to handle certain situations during a high school basketball game, such as penalizing a team for actions of the spectators, but everything that I advise doing isn't just because I like or don't like something, it can be supported by the rules.

Being right isn't always the right thing to do.

No reason to bring up other situations here. I'm sticking to the topic at hand.

This really is academic. If the player is in the lane extended, I'm moving him. If he insists on staying there after I try to move him, I probably would toss him the ball. Wouldn't happen and won't happpen.

Adam Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 920936)
You may disagree with how I recommend to handle certain situations during a high school basketball game, such as penalizing a team for actions of the spectators, but everything that I advise doing isn't just because I like or don't like something, it can be supported by the rules.

While I agree with you on the throw in issue at hand (I'd have no problem bouncing it to a player who wanted to start behind the basket), your advice to call a T on the team supported by unruly spectators isn't comparable.

While "it can be supported by the rules", it can also be career suicide. Further, not calling it is also supported by the rules. The rules very clearly give us discretion and a strong warning to use caution when going that route.

Both are probably once-in-a-career situations, but only one really has a chance to sabotage a career.

BillyMac Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:53pm

Mechanics ...
 
IAABO mechanics, and, maybe, the old NFHS mechanics, told us never to administer the ball to an inbounding player under a basket (in the lane).

Maybe the rules allow for a "run the endline", under the basket, inbound administration, but the mechanics don't, so I'm not doing it.

If I ever administered the ball to an inbounding player under a basket, it would be just my luck that the player would throw the ball so that it hit, out of bounds, on the back side of the backboard, or hit the edge of the backboard so that the pass went out of bounds, or worse, was intercepted. Then the coach, would have good cause to get "all over me".

No thanks. I've never administered the ball to an inbounding player under a basket, designated spot, or otherwise, and, as God is my witness, I never will.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1