The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Replacement Shooter (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97115-replacement-shooter.html)

Diesel Sun Jan 26, 2014 02:07pm

Replacement Shooter
 
After reading the earlier thread about when a FT shooter can be replaced, a situation popped up in one of my girls' games.

A1 is shooting the of two first free-throws after being fouled on a shot attempt and makes it. I am administering the shots and when I go to pass the ball for A1's second shot, my partner blows his whistle and tell the A1's coach that we need a replacement shooter because A1 has a metal clip in her hair. So the coach sends in A2 to shoot the free-throw and A1 sits on the bench. A2 misses and we play on from there and nobody in the gym seems to care or know why we did what we did.

Before the game started, we had reminded both coaches and captains that no metal could be in their hair after we had seen multiple players with the metal clips.

If I noticed a metal clip in A1's hair, I would have let her finish the free-throw and then stop the game to get her out just to avoid any headaches with the rules.

Does this fall under safety issues or an improperly equipped player? I've been searching and can't seem to find anything that validates or invalidates what we did.

APG Sun Jan 26, 2014 02:09pm

Clear the lane, let A1 shoot her remaining FT, then have A1 replaced.

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919957)
Clear the lane, let A1 shoot her remaining FT, then have A1 replaced.

This is an example of what not to do in this situation, and there is no rules backing for making this decision.

APG Sun Jan 26, 2014 02:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919962)
This is an example of what not to do in this situation, and there is no rules backing for making this decision.

I'm using 3.3.5 Situation A as a basis for that. While the case play talks about a player pulling a jersey, I don't see why one wouldn't be able to apply it to jewerly if you're going to direct a player to leave the game to correct.

If you're going to use this case book play as a template, I should also point out that B will get the ball regardless after the final FT's.

Raymond Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919957)
Clear the lane, let A1 shoot her remaining FT, then have A1 replaced.

A rule and case play that are only going to cause the officials heartache. I'm going the "pull your pants up/take the metal pin out your hair" route.

APG Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 919966)
A rule and case play that are only going to cause the officials heartache. I'm going the "pull your pants up/take the metal pin out your hair" route.

I would only use the case book play if player couldn't get legal in a timely fashion. Otherwise, I'm with you in telling the player to correct the issue right there and resume.

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919964)
I'm using 3.3.5 Situation A as a basis for that. While the case play talks about a player pulling a jersey, I don't see why one wouldn't be able to apply it to jewerly if you're going to direct a player to leave the game to correct.

If you're going to use this case book play as a template, I should also point out that B will get the ball regardless after the final FT's.

That is a stretch I wouldn't make, but I can see how some might.

deecee Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:33pm

Me personally I will just tell the kid to take the clip out and give it to her coach (I would also remind all other players to make sure their hair is clear) and have the kid shoot the last FT.

I would not clear the lane as this was not a T. If I had to get a replacement then that replacement would shoot the second FT with the lanes occupied, but this is not the route I would go. Correct it and resume the game.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 26, 2014 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919962)
This is an example of what not to do in this situation, and there is no rules backing for making this decision.

IT's one of the valid choices.

THe other is fix it and go on.

Which to use depends on what is expected in your area, whether the team had had an issue before, etc.

What's not allowed is have a sub come in to shoot the FTs.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919962)
This is an example of what not to do in this situation, and there is no rules backing for making this decision.

Johnny,
How many HS games do you work during a season in addition to your college schedule? You've now made a couple of posts on this forum that aren't accurate for NFHS and I'm wondering how much time you put into the HS game and the rules at that level.

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:27pm

Nevada,

Not many HS games at all.

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 919979)
IT's one of the valid choices.

THe other is fix it and go on.

Which to use depends on what is expected in your area, whether the team had had an issue before, etc.

What's not allowed is have a sub come in to shoot the FTs.

I disagree. I do not think the case play covers the situation of a player wearing illegal equipment. The case play is specific for a player improperly wearing legal equipment. IMO, once discovered, the player should be directed to leave the game and their replacement will shoot the remaining free throw with the players lined up. I like BNRs way of handling it by just having the person remove the thing and continue play. While that method is probably the best, it is not supported by rule either. I personally would not ever choose the method APG suggested. Again, I don't think it is supported by rule, and as BNR said, I think it causes more problems than it solves.

Adam Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919968)
That is a stretch I wouldn't make, but I can see how some might.

I don't think it's much of a stretch, to be honest. It's a solid precedent for a very similar situation.

Now, I'm frankly with the others on this. I'm going to just have her take it out if she can get it out quickly. If not, I'm using the case play APG references.

BillyMac Sun Jan 26, 2014 07:17pm

Not Every Forum Member Has A Casebook ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919964)
3.3.5 Situation.

3.3.5 SITUATION A: B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-andone,
the official observes: (a) A1 pull the shirt out of his/her pants; or (b) A1’s
pants being worn below the hips. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed
to put the shirt in the pants or pull up the pants, and must leave the game
immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared for the free
throw and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free
throw is successful. COMMENT: A charged time-out by Team A does not alter the
requirement for A1 to leave the game.

deecee Sun Jan 26, 2014 11:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 919987)
3.3.5 SITUATION A: B1 fouls A1. Just before A1 goes to the line for a one-andone, the official observes: (a) A1 pull the shirt out of his/her pants; or (b) A1’s pants being worn below the hips. RULING: In both (a) and (b), A1 will be directed to put the shirt in the pants or pull up the pants, and must leave the game immediately following his/her last free throw(s). The lane is cleared for the free throw and Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in, whether or not the last free throw is successful. COMMENT: A charged time-out by Team A does not alter the requirement for A1 to leave the game.

I don't know about you but this caseplay is absolutely ludicrous. The penalty is hey kid leave but you can finish shooting your free throws. THEN we will just inbound it to your opponents. So no real penalty at all, except he/she sits a tick.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1