The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Marquette vs Villanova--Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97110-marquette-vs-villanova-video-request.html)

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919940)
This play is going to be a RA blocking foul no matter how you look at it.

Why? Is that because you think he didn't establish LGP outside of it (I don't think he really did...but perhaps the lead did). Or is that because you think it is only about where the he took his final position.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919952)
Not only did he never have LGP outside the RA

While that may be true.

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919952)
but he was moving after upward motion started too.

This is certainly not. The defender got to the position he took a long time before the shooter got there. The dribbler was just picking up the dribble by the time the defender took his spot.

blindzebra Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919954)
While that may be true.



This is certainly not. The defender got to the position he took a long time before the shooter got there. The dribbler was just picking up the dribble by the time the defender took his spot.

Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

JetMetFan Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919969)
Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

Foot movement doesn't necessarily = loss of LGP (assuming the defender had LGP, by rule, in this instance). It appears after the dribble ended the defender never moved forward.

deecee Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:39pm

In full speed I felt it was RA and in slow mo it looks RA too.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919969)
Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

Not relevant to the rule.

blindzebra Sun Jan 26, 2014 04:00pm

I see two steps forward after the dribble is gathered with the right foot moving after he left the floor.

Raymond Sun Jan 26, 2014 04:10pm

I have initial LGP established while in the RA, and still having one foot on/above the RA when contact occurs.

walt Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:29pm

RA play the whole way. This is a play where the C has to help. Like others have said, C was not in position to clearly see the play. That is a block.

AremRed Sun Jan 26, 2014 09:13pm

Those who work NCAA....how exactly does the C help on this play? I mean if the C gets to FLTE and sees the feet in the area, how does he give that information to Lead? Does he simply post too? Does he go to Lead with information after Lead has signaled? Does he try to get Lead to not signal and then signal block?

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 09:56pm

The C goes to the lead. Tells him that the defender was in the restricted area, and the defenders number (the lead probably has forgotten it at this point). The lead changes the call and informs the coach that it is not a PC foul because defender was in the RA. Doesn't matter if the lead has already signaled or not.

walt Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:09pm

What Johnny said. As soon as the C sees the Lead going PC he needs to get in there. Could be the trail as well. Somebody has to get to the Lead and give the information.

Rich Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919997)
The C goes to the lead. Tells him that the defender was in the restricted area, and the defenders number (the lead probably has forgotten it at this point). The lead changes the call and informs the coach that it is not a PC foul because defender was in the RA. Doesn't matter if the lead has already signaled or not.

+1. Standard operating procedure. The L can't be expected to pick up something with the feet so close to the RA. The C really needs to get up the floor and help here.

stiffler3492 Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 919949)
Did they go to the monitor after this? Was it to determine if there was time left on the game clock at the time of the foul?

They did, and put .2 seconds back on.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920001)
+1. Standard operating procedure. The L can't be expected to pick up something with the feet so close to the RA. The C really needs to get up the floor and help here.

And then, if the L says he had LGP out of the RA and stepped back, the discussion is over because it would no longer be an RA play. (NOT saying the player did have LGP or that the lead thought so)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1