The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Marquette vs Villanova--Video Request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97110-marquette-vs-villanova-video-request.html)

stiffler3492 Sat Jan 25, 2014 04:30pm

Marquette vs Villanova--Video Request
 
Final play of regulation.

JetMetFan Sat Jan 25, 2014 06:42pm

video added
 
Here's the play. I'd love to shake the hand of the person who posted this to YouTube...saved me some work :)


<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/fD5algnG3uw?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Nevadaref Sat Jan 25, 2014 07:39pm

Definitely in the RA.

Zoochy Sat Jan 25, 2014 07:57pm

is that reviewable?

Raymond Sat Jan 25, 2014 08:07pm

No it's not reviewable. What I want to know is why the C stopped running on the play. He is responsible for providing help on the specific play. :mad:

APG Sat Jan 25, 2014 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 919924)
is that reviewable?

Only in the NBA...

I also agree with BNR, that this is the type of play that the Center HAS to get in position for (as best as possible) to provide help on.

johnny d Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:24pm

Agreed, C did not work hard enough to get into position to help on the play. Should have been a block because of RA. An argument could be made that the ball was out of the shooters hand before contact, so even going with the wrong call, the basket would have counted and then free throws on the other end.

AremRed Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:38pm

C is the same guy who missed the shooting foul in UCONN-Louisville that led directly to Kevin Ollie's ejection. Perhaps biz will be along shortly to re-verify Brian O'Connell's dedication.

johnny d Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:49pm

The missed call did not lead directly to Ollie's ejection. Missed calls happen all the time. As a D1 coach, Ollie is expected to demonstrate restraint and professionalism in those situations. Ollie's inability to control himself and his actions lead to him being ejected. He has no one to blame but himself.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:55pm

Was that really a missed call?

Did the defender not start outside of the RA and back into it? Perhaps the lead judged that he established LGP before he stepped back into the the RA.

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919935)
Was that really a missed call?

Did the defender not start outside of the RA and back into it? Perhaps the lead judged that he established LGP before he stepped back into the the RA.

He would be wrong on that account as well. LGP was initially established with at least one, if not both feet in the RA.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919936)
He would be wrong on that account as well. LGP was initially established with at least one, if not both feet in the RA.

He did have both feet on the floor and in the path well before he backed into the RA too. The only question is whether he was facing the opponent "enough" or not.

APG Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919939)
He did have both feet on the floor and in the path well before he backed into the RA too. The only question is whether he was facing the opponent "enough" or not.

This play is going to be a RA blocking foul no matter how you look at it.

HawkeyeCubP Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:47pm

RA block. Center was too high literally the entire time from when the throw-in ended.

Did they go to the monitor after this? Was it to determine if there was time left on the game clock at the time of the foul?

blindzebra Sun Jan 26, 2014 01:32pm

Not only did he never have LGP outside the RA but he was moving after upward motion started too.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 919940)
This play is going to be a RA blocking foul no matter how you look at it.

Why? Is that because you think he didn't establish LGP outside of it (I don't think he really did...but perhaps the lead did). Or is that because you think it is only about where the he took his final position.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919952)
Not only did he never have LGP outside the RA

While that may be true.

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919952)
but he was moving after upward motion started too.

This is certainly not. The defender got to the position he took a long time before the shooter got there. The dribbler was just picking up the dribble by the time the defender took his spot.

blindzebra Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919954)
While that may be true.



This is certainly not. The defender got to the position he took a long time before the shooter got there. The dribbler was just picking up the dribble by the time the defender took his spot.

Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

JetMetFan Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919969)
Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

Foot movement doesn't necessarily = loss of LGP (assuming the defender had LGP, by rule, in this instance). It appears after the dribble ended the defender never moved forward.

deecee Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:39pm

In full speed I felt it was RA and in slow mo it looks RA too.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by blindzebra (Post 919969)
Not sure what you are watching but he moves both feet well after the dribble is gathered.

Not relevant to the rule.

blindzebra Sun Jan 26, 2014 04:00pm

I see two steps forward after the dribble is gathered with the right foot moving after he left the floor.

Raymond Sun Jan 26, 2014 04:10pm

I have initial LGP established while in the RA, and still having one foot on/above the RA when contact occurs.

walt Sun Jan 26, 2014 06:29pm

RA play the whole way. This is a play where the C has to help. Like others have said, C was not in position to clearly see the play. That is a block.

AremRed Sun Jan 26, 2014 09:13pm

Those who work NCAA....how exactly does the C help on this play? I mean if the C gets to FLTE and sees the feet in the area, how does he give that information to Lead? Does he simply post too? Does he go to Lead with information after Lead has signaled? Does he try to get Lead to not signal and then signal block?

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 09:56pm

The C goes to the lead. Tells him that the defender was in the restricted area, and the defenders number (the lead probably has forgotten it at this point). The lead changes the call and informs the coach that it is not a PC foul because defender was in the RA. Doesn't matter if the lead has already signaled or not.

walt Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:09pm

What Johnny said. As soon as the C sees the Lead going PC he needs to get in there. Could be the trail as well. Somebody has to get to the Lead and give the information.

Rich Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 919997)
The C goes to the lead. Tells him that the defender was in the restricted area, and the defenders number (the lead probably has forgotten it at this point). The lead changes the call and informs the coach that it is not a PC foul because defender was in the RA. Doesn't matter if the lead has already signaled or not.

+1. Standard operating procedure. The L can't be expected to pick up something with the feet so close to the RA. The C really needs to get up the floor and help here.

stiffler3492 Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 919949)
Did they go to the monitor after this? Was it to determine if there was time left on the game clock at the time of the foul?

They did, and put .2 seconds back on.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920001)
+1. Standard operating procedure. The L can't be expected to pick up something with the feet so close to the RA. The C really needs to get up the floor and help here.

And then, if the L says he had LGP out of the RA and stepped back, the discussion is over because it would no longer be an RA play. (NOT saying the player did have LGP or that the lead thought so)

johnny d Sun Jan 26, 2014 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 920005)
And then, if the L says he had LGP out of the RA and stepped back, the discussion is over because it would no longer be an RA play. (NOT saying the player did have LGP or that the lead thought so)

This might technically be true, but in reality it isn't going to happen that way. Once the C or T come in the lead is going to change the call 999/1000 times. It is assumed that the C or T are only coming when they are 100% positive that it was/wasn't an RA play. If there is any doubt, we do not come in with the information. If it turns out the C or T was wrong, they will be the one getting dinged by the evaluator/assignor.

Rich Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 920005)
And then, if the L says he had LGP out of the RA and stepped back, the discussion is over because it would no longer be an RA play. (NOT saying the player did have LGP or that the lead thought so)

Would never happen. If I'm coming to you, I'm 100% sure and you're changing it.

Just like a partner coming to me on an OOB call he thinks I missed. I'm changing it, I'm not going to argue with him on the floor.

JetMetFan Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 920027)
Would never happen. If I'm coming to you, I'm 100% sure and you're changing it.

Just like a partner coming to me on an OOB call he thinks I missed. I'm changing it, I'm not going to argue with him on the floor.

It's not an argument. I'm L and C comes to me and says "B1 was in the RA." If I say to the C, "I know but I have B1 establishing LGP outside of the RA and backing in" the discussion is over just as quickly as if I had accepted C's information and gone with it.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 920031)
It's not an argument. I'm L and C comes to me and says "B1 was in the RA." If I say to the C, "I know but I have B1 establishing LGP outside of the RA and backing in" the discussion is over just as quickly as if I had accepted C's information and gone with it.

I agree with JetMet.

If I didn't see that the player was in the RA, then I change it. <-- happens 99% of the time

If I see that the player was in the RA, but I have some other reason for it being a charge (player established outside; offense led with foot or arm; play started in LDB (NCAAW only)), then I explain it briefly and stick with my call <-- happens 1% of the time.

Same as if the ball goes out on my line and you come to me saying it was tipped out top -- 99% of the time I change it, but if the ball was tipped again that you didn't see, I stick with my call.

maroonx Mon Jan 27, 2014 08:41pm

Was that the proper mechanic for PCF on that play? Looks like official was showboating.

Rich Mon Jan 27, 2014 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 920096)
Was that the proper mechanic for PCF on that play? Looks like official was showboating.

Really?

Really?

A Pennsylvania Coach Mon Jan 27, 2014 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 920096)
Was that the proper mechanic for PCF on that play? Looks like official was showboating.

If I have a call that wipes off the game-winning buzzer-beating score, you can bet I'm selling the heck out of it. Whether the mechanic is perfect is far less important than 1) does everyone know what you have? and 2) have you done what you can to make them believe you are right?

Rich Mon Jan 27, 2014 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 920098)
If I have a call that wipes off the game-winning buzzer-beating score, you can bet I'm selling the heck out of it. Whether the mechanic is perfect is far less important than 1) does everyone know what you have? and 2) have you done what you can to make them believe you are right?

Exactly. Anyone who thinks that going fist / hand to the back of the head / point there would be BETTER is missing the big picture.

APG Mon Jan 27, 2014 09:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 920096)
Was that the proper mechanic for PCF on that play? Looks like official was showboating.

Curious...why do you think the official was showboating?

Toren Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:06pm

I have an RA block. But beyond that I'm not even pointing to the RA because this is a garden variety block. I do not have LGP before the start of the upward motion by the defender.

Block, count it.

deecee Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:11pm

Im surprised no one has had 3 traveling violations yet.

Rich Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 920103)
Im surprised no one has had 3 traveling violations yet.

Give it time.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1