The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Next Game's Official Interfering (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97087-next-games-official-interfering.html)

Treeguy Wed Jan 22, 2014 09:16pm

A couple possessions before when V was shooting free throws, the point guard got into the lower block and was talking to his teammate across the lane like they were planning on shooting on the wrong basket. Nothing happen that time, but the free throw in the OP, they were talking like let's really do it. I was not closely listening to them, but I feel that they planned this. That is why I am asking about the T.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 919639)
This case situation does not apply to the OP, as this states Team A makes the free throw and inbounds the ball afterwards. But in the OP, Team A makes the free throw and Team B inbounds the ball.

That seems to be why there is confusion about giving Team A a technical foul.

My question is this...

Since this is not a correctable error, as only free throws attempted at the wrong basket are correctable, should all points be counted and go from the POI?

1. Team V gets the point for the free throw.
2. Team V is awarded points for Team H making a field goal in the wrong basket (it is not awarded to any player, but a note is made in the scorebook to explain the points scored).

Both of those are correct.

Quote:

3. Team V is awarded points for their made field goal, even though it should have been Team H's ball.
4. Play is stopped, and both teams are reminded which basket they're are shooting at, to make sure there is no more confusion.
Incorrect (esp. point 3). V shouldn't have inbounded, H should have inbounded again. IF you can recognize it in time, stop it before V "scores." If you don't then stop it afterwards and cancel the points, get everyone straightened out, let H inbound the ball and resume play.

BryanV21 Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:15pm

Fixing it like that makes sense, as it's fair. However, it doesn't seem to jive with the rule regarding correctable errors.

This is an official's mistake, for allowing it to happen, and therefore should fall under the correctable rules.

The one case book situation cited here doesn't fit this situation, as that refers to Team A shooting the free throw AND inbounding the ball. So where is the rule or case to make it clear that this is right?

Coach Bill Thu Jan 23, 2014 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Treeguy (Post 919528)
Freshman boys. Less than a minute left in the game, home up by 30. V shooting free throws, hits the second, H1 passes to H2 who shoots at the wrong basket and makes, I believe done on purpose. V1 takes the ball, immediately throws it to V2 who scores. That did not look right, so I blow my whistle and had to think about what just happened. I realize that it should have been H's ball underneath after they scored, so I wave off the last basket and I go up to the table and let them know what I have. As I was explaining it, the official waiting for the JV comes up behind the table yelling NO NO NO saying V34 gets the basket. I don't think he realize I was just disallowing the last shot.

So my questions are;
1. Am I correct in disallowing the second shot? and
2. WTF?

Is it possible he wasn't interfering with you, but the table? Sounds like he's fixing the previous basket (made by H in V's basket). Not the bucket you're about to wave off. The table may have awarded two points to H2, because he scored. You may not even had been aware that the table screwed that up. And, they may have been discussing it or asked him? I would bet the table got confused about what to do when H scored in the wrong basket and he was telling them "Give them to V. Player #34."

Don't think his comments have to do with you and nothing to do with the bucket you're about to wave off. I think he saw their mistake (whereas, you couldn't possibly have seen, of course).

JetMetFan Thu Jan 23, 2014 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 919639)
This case situation does not apply to the OP, as this states Team A makes the free throw and inbounds the ball afterwards. But in the OP, Team A makes the free throw and Team B inbounds the ball.

It actually does apply. The screw-up was that after Team A scored on itself, Team B inbounded the ball which isn't correct. Team A should've inbounded the ball again...after being reminded to go shoot at the hoop on the other end of the court.

Treeguy Thu Jan 23, 2014 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coach Bill (Post 919671)
Is it possible he wasn't interfering with you, but the table? Sounds like he's fixing the previous basket (made by H in V's basket). Not the bucket you're about to wave off. The table may have awarded two points to H2, because he scored. You may not even had been aware that the table screwed that up. And, they may have been discussing it or asked him? I would bet the table got confused about what to do when H scored in the wrong basket and he was telling them "Give them to V. Player #34."

Don't think his comments have to do with you and nothing to do with the bucket you're about to wave off. I think he saw their mistake (whereas, you couldn't possibly have seen, of course).

This was a big gym with the bleachers on top of locker rooms and offices. There was 30 feet from the sideline to the wall and they were sitting along the wall behind the far end of the bench, so I don't see how he would have seen that mistake. But he was talking to me and the table, and right or wrong, he should not interfere with our game, it was our game to screw up or not. And if I needed something cleared up, I would not go to non-officiating officials, again it is our game to crew up or not. I would ask after the game ( or halftime if they are there) their opinion to see if I got it right, but not during a game. This is an official in our association, so I am bring this up to our trainers.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 23, 2014 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 919666)
Fixing it like that makes sense, as it's fair.

It's fair and it's the rule.

It's an error, and it's correctable, but it's not a correctable error (for one, the time frame doesn't apply).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1