The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Gets There First ... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/97077-gets-there-first.html)

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 05:02pm

Gets There First ...
 
A1 rebounds the ball while airborne. A1 falls to the floor while holding the ball, when he lands on B2 who had fallen to the floor. The official rules a traveling violation on A1. Is the official correct? Ruling: No, this is a blocking foul on B2. The mere fact that B2 has fallen on the floor, does not absolve him from committing a blocking foul. B2 is not in a legal guarding position. (4-23-1, 2 & 4; 10-6-1)

Found this interpretation (above) online. I recall that we've discussed this before on the Forum. I also recall that this ruling (above) was correct for NCAA games, and that several of us were undecided for NFHS games, with the discussion centering on "every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent".

I believe that the situation above hinges on the fact that B2 took away A1's landing spot.

New situation: What if a moving dribbler, or a player moving without the ball, simply trips over a fallen player who has gotten there first and who didn't take away a landing spot?

Comments please, on either situation, original, or new.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 20, 2014 06:06pm

That play ruling does not match the one issued by the NFHS several years ago and since removed from the Case Book. Don't know from where you obtained it, but it wasn't the NFHS.

That said if B2 falls to the floor under an airborne A1 who then comes down vertically on B2, that is a blocking foul. For your follow up question, if B2 fell in some other spot or was there before A1 went airborne, then B2 should not be charged with a foul under NFHS rules.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:00pm

Great Minds Think Alike ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919328)
That said if B2 falls to the floor under an airborne A1 who then comes down vertically on B2, that is a blocking foul. For your follow up question, if B2 fell in some other spot or was there before A1 went airborne, then B2 should not be charged with a foul under NFHS rules.

Thanks. That's what I thought.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:01pm

Help ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919328)
That play ruling does not match the one issued by the NFHS several years ago and since removed from the Case Book.

That's what confused me. I can't find it. Can anybody help?

Camron Rust Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919328)
That play ruling does not match the one issued by the NFHS several years ago and since removed from the Case Book. Don't know from where you obtained it, but it wasn't the NFHS.

That said if B2 falls to the floor under an airborne A1 who then comes down vertically on B2, that is a blocking foul. For your follow up question, if B2 fell in some other spot or was there before A1 went airborne, then B2 should not be charged with a foul under NFHS rules.

Agree. The above citation was an NCAA interpretation and the NFHS interpretation was the exact opposite.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:10pm

Seeing Is Believing ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 919335)
Agree. The above citation was an NCAA interpretation and the NFHS interpretation was the exact opposite.

That's what I thought. Now, who can come up with that NFHS "exact opposite" interpretation? And, it doesn't have to be someone from Missouri.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 919338)
That's what I thought. Now, who can come up with that NFHS "exact opposite" interpretation? And, it doesn't have to be someone from Missouri.

You posted it yourself in this previous thread: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tion-here.html

Now where are your keys?

Raymond Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 919314)
...

New situation: What if a moving dribbler, or a player moving without the ball, simply trips over a fallen player who has gotten there first and who didn't take away a landing spot?

Comments please, on either situation, original, or new.

That's actually what our previous discussions were about. Foul in NCAA, nothing in NFHS.

Your rebounding scenario is the "new" situation.

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:35pm

Found It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919328)
That play ruling does not match the one issued by the NFHS several years ago and since removed from the Case Book.

This casebook play last appeared in the 2004-05 NFHS casebook:

10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor. Ruling: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even if it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post817481

BillyMac Mon Jan 20, 2014 07:39pm

Still Looking For My Keys ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 919340)
You posted it ...

That You guy seems pretty smart. And I hear that he's quite handsome.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1