![]() |
Quote:
Getting to the spot first after already having LGP has nothing to do with the feet. It is about the space...where the torso's meet. Defender clearly got that first. Calling it the way you're suggesting is just screwing defenders....that makes playing good defense an impossible task. |
I've been looking hard at the play and reading the rule book over and over, as I've been involved in debate concerning plays like this before, and I will concede to this...
If both players got to the spot at the same time, then a PC call should be made. The defender had more of a right to that spot as he moved laterally, and not towards the dribbler, after having gained LGP beforehand. My problem with that is that I don't like the "same time" thing. One player beat the other to the spot, so make a choice. It's like when I was an umpire, and you'd have a "bang-bang" play at a base, and you'd hear somebody say "tie goes to the runner." Well, there is no such thing as a tie. Somebody touched the base first, so make a decision. |
Quote:
Having both feet down at the spot of contact is the way I'm defining getting to that spot first. How would you define getting to a spot first, which would satisfy the first part of legally guarding a player? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The defender never moved toward the ball handler. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. Did the defender do anything illegal to get into that position (feet are irrelevant)? No. 2. Did the defender have LGP (feet were relevant at the point it was obtained). Yes....for a long time. 3. Was the defender (the torso) in the path of the opponent? Yes....that is being in the spot. 4. Was the defender moving toward the opponent? No. 5. Unfreeze....contact. Charge. You're adding your own requirement to getting to the spot that isn't supported in the rules...and making it a lot harder to make the call since you're making yourself have to split hairs with every little twitch the defender makes in order to decide block/charge....and the error will always penalize the defense. |
Quote:
Let's break this down. Here's a picture of the moment the defender obtained LGP. http://i40.tinypic.com/nvzg4l.jpg At this moment the defender is guarding the ballhandler/dribbler. From that point on, the defender can move any direction he wants as long as he's not moving forward into the ballhandler/dribbler when/if contact takes place. Now, here's a picture of the moment right before contact. http://i42.tinypic.com/24o22vp.jpg I'm not going to post frame-by-frame shots but you said yourself the defender was moving laterally at the moment of contact. Given the defender was moving laterally after obtaining - and never losing - LGP and the ballhandler/dribbler did not get head and shoulders around the defender, what - by rule - was the defender doing wrong at the time of contact? Keep in mind, the defender maintained LGP through the entire play meaning he's not required to have either or both feet on the floor when contact takes place to remain legal. |
Play 1: No call.
Play 2: No call. Play 3: Charge. Play 4: Black ball. |
Quote:
Once the defender has gained initial LGP the dribbler has to go around the defender without any contact. Provided that the defender never makes a move towards the dribbler. So unless it's clear that the dribbler gets to a spot first, and is then "run into" by the defender, we have a PC foul. |
Quote:
Peace |
Too much emphasis on getting to the spot first. If both players are moving, they get to the point of contact at the same time. Then the issue is whether LGP was established followed by the direction of the players movement relative to each other.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43am. |