The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in issues HS Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96756-throw-issues-hs-rules.html)

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 913888)
Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.

Lighten up, Frances. :rolleyes:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 913990)
Sure. Once. Then the ball would go to the other team due to the violation.


+10

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by geoff.mayfield (Post 913882)
After a made bucket the inbounding team (A) can clearly pass the ball along the end line to alternate teammates to complete the throw in. A1 passes along the end line to A2 who completes the throw in to A3. But....

(1) A2 completely misses the pass and the ball remains behind the endline and rolls into the corner of the gym. Can team A call timeout (in the absence of player control by any A team mates) during the "loose ball" that occurs after the errant pass in order to avoid a 5 second violation.

(2) A1's pass is poorly thrown and the ball travels over the endline (into the playing area) and over the sideline, out of bounds into the stands. The ball is untouched until it lands in stands behind the side line.

(3) After team B's bucket, A1 (the inbounder) takes the ball and jogs towards the sideline (while out of bounds behind the endline). As he jogs, he "passes" the ball to the wall of the gym (behind the endline, imagine small gym confines--ball never enter playing area prior to hitting the wall) causing the ball to bounce of of the wall: (A) and returning to A1 whereby A1 completes the throw in to A2; or (2) whereby the ball enters the playing area and is secured by A2. Violation?


Plays (2) and (3) are easy: Violations in both.

Play (1) has been discussed before a few years ago in a thread I am sure someone else will no doubt attempt to find and in which one will find that I made the same argument I am making below.

My position: It is a violation by Team A in Play (1). Per Rule, Team A can take its throw-in any where behind the End Line. Once the ball touches any part of out-of-bounds which is outside the Side Line extended, Team A has committed a throw-in violation.

MTD, Sr.

frezer11 Thu Dec 12, 2013 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 914009)
NFHS 7-1-2a...The ball is out of bounds when it touches...:

3. The supports or back of the backboard.
4. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports

So it would appear no violation if it's following made/awarded FG or FT. Of course you’ll probably end up with a five-second violation since the ball will most likely ricochet somewhere and the players won’t be able to recover it in time.

Agree with the rule (not that there's anything to agree with, it's the rule!), but does that mean your interpretation is that the inbounds pass can hit the back of the backboard, and bounce back to the thrower, and he can still inbound it with no violation? Clearly not, so is there a difference between hitting the back of the backboard (an area defined as out of bounds), or hitting the support outside the boundary line (an area also defined as out of bounds)? I'm actually thinking that hitting that support, again as long as it is outside the boundary line, is legal, but admittedly, not totally sure on this one.

HokiePaul Thu Dec 12, 2013 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 914091)
... is there a difference between hitting the back of the backboard (an area defined as out of bounds), or hitting the support outside the boundary line (an area also defined as out of bounds)? I'm actually thinking that hitting that support, again as long as it is outside the boundary line, is legal, but admittedly, not totally sure on this one.

It is a weird situation. Most high schools in my area have the supports that come down from the ceiling/upper wall so it would take a little bit of effort to hit the supports on the out of bounds side of the line. If it were one of the baskets where there is a support base on the ground in the out of bounds area, I feel like it would be a different situation (almost unavoidable at times to not bump into the base). I am not totally sure either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1