The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in issues HS Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96756-throw-issues-hs-rules.html)

geoff.mayfield Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:08pm

Throw in issues HS Rules
 
After a made bucket the inbounding team (A) can clearly pass the ball along the end line to alternate teammates to complete the throw in. A1 passes along the end line to A2 who completes the throw in to A3. But....

(1) A2 completely misses the pass and the ball remains behind the endline and rolls into the corner of the gym. Can team A call timeout (in the absence of player control by any A team mates) during the "loose ball" that occurs after the errant pass in order to avoid a 5 second violation.

(2) A1's pass is poorly thrown and the ball travels over the endline (into the playing area) and over the sideline, out of bounds into the stands. The ball is untouched until it lands in stands behind the side line.

(3) After team B's bucket, A1 (the inbounder) takes the ball and jogs towards the sideline (while out of bounds behind the endline). As he jogs, he "passes" the ball to the wall of the gym (behind the endline, imagine small gym confines--ball never enter playing area prior to hitting the wall) causing the ball to bounce of of the wall: (A) and returning to A1 whereby A1 completes the throw in to A2; or (2) whereby the ball enters the playing area and is secured by A2. Violation?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:18pm

1) Is the ball still at A's disposal? That will let you answer this.

2) A ball goes OOB and the ruling is ....?

3) (2) is covered in a case. (A) is not covered but I'd treat it the same way. If it was accidental, I'd treat is as in your first play.

HokiePaul Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:31pm

1) I grant the time out. I would consider the ball still at A's disposal.
(8-3-a: The ball is at the disposal or in control of a player of his/her team)

2) Violation. Spot throw in from the endline for B.

3a) I'm going with no violation (may change my mind once I hear what others have). I'm treating the wall like the floor out of bounds and considering this like a dribble - and there is no restriction on dribbling during a throw in.

3b) I'm calling a Violation (and I'm looking through the rule book now to see if I can figure out why).

johnny d Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 913885)

3b) I'm calling a Violation (and I'm looking through the rule book now to see if I can figure out why).


Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.

HokiePaul Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 913888)
Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.

No ... I know it is a violation by rule, so I'm calling it if I see it in a game. I just don't have the rule citation memorized. It is something like the ball must be released directly onto the court - just can't find it at the moment.

Edit:
My reason for a violation in 3b is Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out of bounds ... A pass off the wall onto the court does not meet this provision so I call a violation when touched. If no one touches it, I call a violation when it goes out of bounds untouched.

johnny d Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:50pm

Check in rule 9, there might be some help for you there.

Rob1968 Wed Dec 11, 2013 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 913889)
No ... I know it is a violation by rule, so I'm calling it if I see it in a game. I just don't have the rule citation memorized. It is something like the ball must be released directly onto the court - just can't find it at the moment.

Try 9-2-2, and Case Book 9.2.2 A (a) and (b), which have to do with (The ball shall be passed directly into the court from out-of-bounds...).

HokiePaul Wed Dec 11, 2013 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 913891)
Try 9-2-2, and Case Book 9.2.2 A (a) and (b), which have to do with (The ball shall be passed directly into the court from out-of-bounds...).

Thanks. And the case 9.2.2 D seems to me to support the ruling that the actions in the OP 3a are legal. "Ruling: A player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in".

It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 11, 2013 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 913892)
Thanks. And the case 9.2.2 D seems to me to support the ruling that the actions in the OP 3a are legal. "Ruling: A player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in".

It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.

While it does say area, I think it would be pretty safe to assume they really meant area of the floor.

That said, I'm also OK with being liberal with it and ruling it to not be a violation. In the spirit of this rule, it doesn't really match the violations on the throwin going directly OOB because the thrower was just bouncing it to himself/herself (like dribble but not technically a dribble). They gain absolutely nothing by doing so...and probably just waste time that could have been used for the throwin.

As for situation #1, I've got a violation as soon as it passed the plane of the sideline. The throwin can only be made along the endline, not the endline extended, and the ball is no longer along the endline but is in an OOB area where no thowin can be made.

Altor Wed Dec 11, 2013 08:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 913892)
It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.

Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?

JetMetFan Thu Dec 12, 2013 06:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 913959)
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?

Sure. Once. Then the ball would go to the other team due to the violation.

HokiePaul Thu Dec 12, 2013 08:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 913959)
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?

Not really a good comparison to the play in question.

I see it more like the thrower backing up and touching the wall behind them. Whether the player touches the wall or the ball touches the wall in the out of bounds area, there is no depth restriction on the throw in so I'm not seeing a rule being violated in this specific instance.

HokiePaul Thu Dec 12, 2013 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 913936)

As for situation #1, I've got a violation as soon as it passed the plane of the sideline. The throwin can only be made along the endline, not the endline extended, and the ball is no longer along the endline but is in an OOB area where no thowin can be made.

Interesting thought -- although technically the throwin hasn't been "made" yet and it still could be made along the endline if recovered quickly enough.

Would anyone else call a violation immediately if a player moved endline "extended" or would the call be made only if the ball was released on a throwin from this position. Since there is no line, it would have to be a judgement call as to whether or not the thrower crossed the sideline plane. Also, depending on where you positioned (and whether it is 2 or 3 man), this sideline call might be your partners line/call.

frezer11 Thu Dec 12, 2013 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Altor (Post 913959)
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?

Quote:

Originally Posted by HokiePaul (Post 913992)
Not really a good comparison to the play in question.

Initially I thought, "What is Hokie talking about, I think that's a great comparison," but as I think about it, you're right, the backboard is past the throw in plane. Which makes me think of this, what if teammates out of bound along the end line pass the ball, and it hits the basket support on the out of bounds side of the line? Same as hititng the wall behind the basket?

JetMetFan Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 913998)
what if teammates out of bounds along the end line pass the ball, and it hits the basket support on the out of bounds side of the line? Same as hititng the wall behind the basket?

NFHS 7-1-2a...The ball is out of bounds when it touches...:

3. The supports or back of the backboard.
4. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports

So it would appear no violation if it's following made/awarded FG or FT. Of course you’ll probably end up with a five-second violation since the ball will most likely ricochet somewhere and the players won’t be able to recover it in time.

Scrapper1 Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 913888)
Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.

Lighten up, Frances. :rolleyes:

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 913990)
Sure. Once. Then the ball would go to the other team due to the violation.


+10

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by geoff.mayfield (Post 913882)
After a made bucket the inbounding team (A) can clearly pass the ball along the end line to alternate teammates to complete the throw in. A1 passes along the end line to A2 who completes the throw in to A3. But....

(1) A2 completely misses the pass and the ball remains behind the endline and rolls into the corner of the gym. Can team A call timeout (in the absence of player control by any A team mates) during the "loose ball" that occurs after the errant pass in order to avoid a 5 second violation.

(2) A1's pass is poorly thrown and the ball travels over the endline (into the playing area) and over the sideline, out of bounds into the stands. The ball is untouched until it lands in stands behind the side line.

(3) After team B's bucket, A1 (the inbounder) takes the ball and jogs towards the sideline (while out of bounds behind the endline). As he jogs, he "passes" the ball to the wall of the gym (behind the endline, imagine small gym confines--ball never enter playing area prior to hitting the wall) causing the ball to bounce of of the wall: (A) and returning to A1 whereby A1 completes the throw in to A2; or (2) whereby the ball enters the playing area and is secured by A2. Violation?


Plays (2) and (3) are easy: Violations in both.

Play (1) has been discussed before a few years ago in a thread I am sure someone else will no doubt attempt to find and in which one will find that I made the same argument I am making below.

My position: It is a violation by Team A in Play (1). Per Rule, Team A can take its throw-in any where behind the End Line. Once the ball touches any part of out-of-bounds which is outside the Side Line extended, Team A has committed a throw-in violation.

MTD, Sr.

frezer11 Thu Dec 12, 2013 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 914009)
NFHS 7-1-2a...The ball is out of bounds when it touches...:

3. The supports or back of the backboard.
4. The ceiling, overhead equipment or supports

So it would appear no violation if it's following made/awarded FG or FT. Of course you’ll probably end up with a five-second violation since the ball will most likely ricochet somewhere and the players won’t be able to recover it in time.

Agree with the rule (not that there's anything to agree with, it's the rule!), but does that mean your interpretation is that the inbounds pass can hit the back of the backboard, and bounce back to the thrower, and he can still inbound it with no violation? Clearly not, so is there a difference between hitting the back of the backboard (an area defined as out of bounds), or hitting the support outside the boundary line (an area also defined as out of bounds)? I'm actually thinking that hitting that support, again as long as it is outside the boundary line, is legal, but admittedly, not totally sure on this one.

HokiePaul Thu Dec 12, 2013 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 914091)
... is there a difference between hitting the back of the backboard (an area defined as out of bounds), or hitting the support outside the boundary line (an area also defined as out of bounds)? I'm actually thinking that hitting that support, again as long as it is outside the boundary line, is legal, but admittedly, not totally sure on this one.

It is a weird situation. Most high schools in my area have the supports that come down from the ceiling/upper wall so it would take a little bit of effort to hit the supports on the out of bounds side of the line. If it were one of the baskets where there is a support base on the ground in the out of bounds area, I feel like it would be a different situation (almost unavoidable at times to not bump into the base). I am not totally sure either.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1