The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Intentional (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96749-intentional.html)

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:35am

Intentional
 
This conversation came up at our association meeting last night. One of the varsity officials said at the end of their game with maybe 20 seconds left, A1 is trying to inbound the ball. Clocked is stopped and B2 fouls A2. Nothing extraordinary, just playing defense. He said they called an intentional foul. What are your thoughts on this?

BigT Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:39am

If the ball hasnt left his hands on the throw in it has to be more than a common foul.

Smitty Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 913683)
If the ball hasnt left his hands on the throw in it has to be more than a common foul.

Why?

APG Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 913683)
If the ball hasnt left his hands on the throw in it has to be more than a common foul.

Not necessarily true...in this situation, you have to decide if the foul was committed soley for the purpose of preventing the clock from being started.

Dave9819 Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:06pm

If the defender contacts the player in bounding the ball, per 4-19-3(e) and 9-2-10 penalty 4, it is an intentional foul.

"The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass."

Penalty: If an opponents(s) contacts the thrower, an intential personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required.

johnny d Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:10pm

Dave, you should read the OP more carefully. A1 is the person making the throw in. The foul is by B2 on A2. The rule you cited has no bearing.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:10pm

For clarification, the foul was not on the thrower, but on another player on the floor.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 913682)
This conversation came up at our association meeting last night. One of the varsity officials said at the end of their game with maybe 20 seconds left, A1 is trying to inbound the ball. Clocked is stopped and B2 fouls A2. Nothing extraordinary, just playing defense. He said they called an intentional foul. What are your thoughts on this?

Why would this be anything but a common foul, as described? It would likely not be an I if it happened maybe 20 seconds into the game.

Now, I agree that my antennae go up near the end of the game, and I might not deem it to be "nothing extraordinary, just playing defense" -- but that's not what (apparently) happened.

Adam Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 913683)
If the ball hasnt left his hands on the throw in it has to be more than a common foul.

A1 is throwing it in.
A2 gets fouled.

This (the OP) is not an intentional foul.

Camron Rust Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:23pm

I've heard it said by some very high level officials that it should automatically be intentional, but there is nothing in the rules that require it to be so. They were just mixing up the foul-on-the-thrower rule. The foul is what it is on it own without regard to it being a throwin.

Sharpshooternes Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 913696)
Why would this be anything but a common foul, as described? It would likely not be an I if it happened maybe 20 seconds into the game.

Now, I agree that my antennae go up near the end of the game, and I might not deem it to be "nothing extraordinary, just playing defense" -- but that's not what (apparently) happened.

Actually this was the discussion. That because the clock was stopped near the end of the game it had to be intentional. I for one disagree. There were some in the party of any foul by the defense while the ball is out of bounds is intentional. Again, I disagree.

Adam Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 913701)
Actually this was the discussion. That because the clock was stopped near the end of the game it had to be intentional. I for one disagree. There were some in the party of any foul by the defense while the ball is out of bounds is intentional. Again, I disagree.

Ask them for a rule reference on that. I'm curious how they'll answer.

Dave9819 Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 913693)
Dave, you should read the OP more carefully. A1 is the person making the throw in. The foul is by B2 on A2. The rule you cited has no bearing.


Yep. :o

deecee Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 913701)
Actually this was the discussion. That because the clock was stopped near the end of the game it had to be intentional. I for one disagree. There were some in the party of any foul by the defense while the ball is out of bounds is intentional. Again, I disagree.

Any intentional foul by the defense while the ball is out of bounds is intentional. But just to call any contact an intentional simply because of the location of the ball is preposterous.

ballgame99 Tue Dec 10, 2013 12:54pm

If the D is playing it strait and just gets a little overzealous and creates some contact I'm not sure how you would call it intentional. It would take a jersey grab, an unnecessary hug, or excessive contact with a big man well away from the play to get an intentional from me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1