![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do they call an intentional when the ball handler is fouled to stop the clock? |
Quote:
|
Sharp are they saying a kid playing denial defense on a Team A player who commits a foul on a throw-in late in the game deserves an intentional? They’d better be prepared to call a T on Team B’s HC because that’s what’s going to happen.
(Sigh) The old “contact away from the ball with an opponent who is clearly not involved with a play” clause. Sometimes the ability to read the rule book can be a dangerous thing. By their logic they’d also have to call an intentional foul if B1 bumped a cutter who was on the other side of the court in that scenario. |
What is the foul is to put the worst foul shooter on the line and he is not involved with the play and to keep the clock from running?
Rule: 4-19-3 ART. 3 An intentional foul is a personal or technical foul that may or may not be premeditated and is not based solely on the severity of the act. Intentional fouls include, but are not limited to: a. Contact that neutralizes an opponent's obvious advantageous position. b. Contact away from the ball with an opponent who is clearly not involved with a play. c. Contact that is not a legitimate attempt to play the ball/player specifically designed to stop the clock or keep it from starting. d. Excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball. e. Contact with a thrower-in as in 9-2-10 Penalty 4. 4.19.3 SITUATION D: Late in the fourth quarter Team B is trailing by six points. Team B's head coach begins to yell to his or her players to "foul, foul, foul!" B1 responds by (a) grabbing A1 from behind, or (b) reaching for the ball but illegally contacting A1 on the arm. RULING: In (a), an intentional foul shall be called. In (b), a common foul shall be called as B1 was making a legitimate attempt to "play the ball." COMMENT: Fouling near the end of a game is an acceptable coaching and playing strategy. Officials must determine if a foul is intentional by judging the fouling act itself, not whether or not the coach instructed a player to perform the act. I remember learning something on this site long ago. If you havent handed the ball to the inbounder and their is decent severe illegal contact isn't it call one way. If the ball is at his disposal wouldnt the rule and case book above be used to term if its common or intentional? And can anyone explain a scenario or situation where a team wants to prevent the clock from starting and what penalty for the contact they called? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The call in this situation has nothing to do with the play being a throw in, it is called a certain way because the ball is dead. When there is contact that is not incidental while the ball is dead, it is a technical foul. |
Thank you.
Basically you can have common fouls when the clock is stopped and the ball is in the hands of the person throwing in the ball. If you think they are fouling the big man to get him on the line you could call an intentional? If they grab their best player to prevent him from getting open you could call another IF. Wouldnt you say most referees shy away from the IF unless it is super obvious to not get pulled into the spot light? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Only the ones that shouldn't be officiating in the first place. If you think a play is an intentional foul, and it meets the requirements of the rule, have some balls and call the intentional foul. If you cannot do that, then stay home and help your wife cook dinner. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I should have this framed. It is the first and will most likely be the last and only time Johnny and awesome will be found in the same sentence on this forum. :D |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm. |