The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 08:52am
Get away from me, Steve.

Opener

Football ended Saturday. Basketball (year 27) starts tonight.

I've cut back this season. Worked 58 games last year (a mixture of BV and GV). This year I'm looking at about 40 BV games. Not that I don't love working hoops, but working football into basketball into baseball each year means it's probably a good idea to cut back a bit until I can figure out whether I want to leave a sport behind. I've been saying this for at least 10 years now and I still haven't cut a sport out, so I don't anticipate it coming anytime soon. Matter of fact, in the last 10 years I've added (and removed and re-added) college baseball and added college football.

7 games in November, 13 in December, 13 in January, and 7 in February. Seems pretty balanced to me. I'm guessing I'll work more makeups now that I have actual nights off during the season, too.
Old Thu Nov 21, 2013, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member

we're not getting any younger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post

I've cut back this season. Worked 58 games last year (a mixture of BV and GV). This year I'm looking at about 40 BV games. Not that I don't love working hoops, but working football into basketball into baseball each year means it's probably a good idea to cut back a bit until I can figure out whether I want to leave a sport behind. I've been saying this for at least 10 years now and I still haven't cut a sport out, so I don't anticipate it coming anytime soon. Matter of fact, in the last 10 years I've added (and removed and re-added) college baseball and added college football.

7 games in November, 13 in December, 13 in January, and 7 in February. Seems pretty balanced to me. I'm guessing I'll work more makeups now that I have actual nights off during the season, too.