![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I did not think it was a travel when I saw the replay, I certainly see nothing in video that makes me change my mind. No control or control I am comfortable calling.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
In the NFHS rule book it specifically says that falling to the ground from midair is a travel. (case play 4.44.5 sit A)
In the NCAA rule book it reads: 9-6 Art. 7. It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot. BTW, in response to a longstanding debate, I came across A.R. 190: After: (1) Receiving a pass; or (2) Ending a dribble, A1 jumps into the air on a try for goal, is contested by B1 and since A1 could not get his try for goal off, he voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court. In both (1) and (2), A1 is the first to touch the ball. RULING: (1) A1 has committed a traveling violation because he did not release the ball before picking up his pivot foot. (2) A1's release of the ball, after being airborne, was the start of a second dribble. When A1 touched the ball, A1 committed a double-dribble violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 10, 2013 at 12:45am. |
|
|||
|
Good Citation BadNewsRef ...
Quote:
ball; or (b) after being airborne to catch a pass or control a rebound? RULING: Yes in both (a) and (b). 4-44-5-A: A player holding the ball: May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 10, 2013 at 09:46am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Further, when the player controls the ball with both feet off the court, the first foot that lands is his pivot foot. It doesn't matter if this player is falling while in control of the ball, whatever foot hits first is his pivot foot. If he moves that foot, he has traveled. The play in the video is not travel because it doesn't look as though the player had control of the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 10, 2013 at 03:18am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Dayton/Xavier | jeschmit | Basketball | 1 | Thu Jan 31, 2013 07:30am |
| Iowa/Dayton | ASA/NYSSOBLUE | Baseball | 24 | Sun Jul 27, 2008 02:24pm |
| umpire school near dayton ohio? help! | r2young3390 | Softball | 1 | Sun Aug 08, 2004 06:57pm |
| DePaul/Dayton | whistleone | Basketball | 19 | Fri Mar 19, 2004 06:19pm |
| looking for refs for tournament in Dayton OH | jasonboom | Basketball | 0 | Tue Jan 18, 2000 04:21pm |