The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Oct 07, 2000, 11:23pm
Official Forum Member

Question

Do we have a bad habit of delaying the call of a foul just to see if the shot goes in or not. As a coach I see alot of officials waiting to call a foul only if the shot does not go in. Most officials tell me they don't want to interrupt the flow of the game. Is this a trend or just poor officiating? It really stands out when the ball hangs on the rim for a second then falls off as a miss- then suddenly a whistle---- My call is poor officiating? what does everyone else think.
Old Sun Oct 08, 2000, 09:40am
Official Forum Member

I agree --- poor officiating.
Old Sun Oct 08, 2000, 10:00am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by rocky
Do we have a bad habit of delaying the call of a foul just to see if the shot goes in or not. As a coach I see alot of officials waiting to call a foul only if the shot does not go in. Most officials tell me they don't want to interrupt the flow of the game. Is this a trend or just poor officiating? It really stands out when the ball hangs on the rim for a second then falls off as a miss- then suddenly a whistle---- My call is poor officiating? what does everyone else think.
Coach Rocky
That flow interupter was emphasized at many camps this year and if the delay really stands out, I would guess that the official who "waited" was still working that mechanic into his game.
If the shooter was really hammered and fought to put up the shot it will be called whether the ball is in, or out, but on a "shooter-got-bumped-a-little" call, the official may wait a bit to determine the effect of the touch, in my opinion.
mick
Old Sun Oct 08, 2000, 04:36pm
Do not give a damn!!

Thumbs up