![]() |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
The shot should have counted, no question about that either. In the second play, I don't have a foul at all....but if there was one, the basket should count. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I was describing the play from memory which turned out to be lacking. From this angle, I can't actually tell when the second hand touches the ball, but it had returned from the floor and was in the right hand with the left foot on the floor. Would anybody call this in real time? Probably not. I was offering a possible suggestion why he wouldn't count the basket. I would prefer no call at all here to waving off the basket. |
Quote:
|
Not gonna micromanage a travel on this play. Not even close, IMO. And if a better view reveals a travel, IMO it was caused by the contact. Foul and two shots.
First play is a clear and-one. FIBA actually addressed this a year or so ago, pointing out the tendency to incorrectly wave off shot attempts and FG's. You are splitting hairs at the atomic level calling this 'on the floor'. Second play = no foul. At all. |
I too would count the first as an easy and one, with the second being nothing but some incidental contact that had no bearing on the play. He got beat and he got scored on. Nothing more to it.
|
What happens after the dribble ends and the ball is gathered? That will help in determining if you should count the basket and/or give a bonus free throw, or give the ball out of bounds. I was watching a bunch of replays from random games over the weekend and we as officials are not good at this. If the ball isn't being released from the chest or eye level, we seem content to not award the basket. So many times, the habitual shooting motion starts at the knees or hips. We must continue to use video review to improve at this. I had an excellent clinician at one of my camps this summer hammer this point home. Several times, she was telling officials that they should have counted the basket. The season will be here before you know it! Let's all get better at this.
|
Let me pile on...
First one is good, and one. Not even close really. No travel either. Second one is a weak call, but counting the bucket is right if the foul was called. |
No "Atomic Splitting of Hairs" Here
Quote:
Quote:
In your area, work on getting your fellow officials to say "No shot" or "Act of shooting", and, with an understanding of the definition of act of shooting (4-41-1,3), the incidence of depriving the deserved award will lessen significantly over time. It's working well here. Hope it works well there. BTW, the FIBA video lesson on this rule ("Act of Shooting") is really very good. Used it in a rules meeting. We could even understand the Canadian language. :) |
Quote:
Peace |
As others have said should count on 1, nothing on 2.
I will add on 2 if you aren't counting it 20 seconds earlier on the other end that one should not be an in one either. Even more reason to pass on it as lead. |
I've Got The Tar, And The Feathers ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47pm. |