The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2013, 09:56pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Hello Again Yall

I'm struggling to come up with the right answer to this. I had this play tonight, and was wondering what I should do if my situation were just a bit different.

In the actual situation that happened: A1 drives to the hoop and jumps for a finger roll. After he lands from his jump, he plows through B1 who had been there since before A1 jumped. The shot missed, and I called a foul on A1.

Let's say though, the shot had gone in. Again, the contact happened after the act of shooting was finished. Would the basket count, and then the foul charged to A1?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2013, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Where is the ball when he lands and plows the defender...if ball went through hoop and then plows it is a dead ball foul. If ball is still in the air not through the hoop you have a different foul. ..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2013, 11:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Where is the ball when he lands and plows the defender...if ball went through hoop and then plows it is a dead ball foul. If ball is still in the air not through the hoop you have a different foul. ..
Just to add:

In order to call this foul if the contact is after the ball went through the basket, it must be either intentional or flagrant.

Either way, the basket would count as there is neither TC nor PC when the foul occurs.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 07:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Just to add:

In order to call this foul if the contact is after the ball went through the basket, it must be either intentional or flagrant.

Either way, the basket would count as there is neither TC nor PC when the foul occurs.
And it would be a Technical Foul (might matter for DQ, or any "special" summer rules).

99% of the time, though, it would not rise to the level of I or F as described so it would be ignored (in the rules sense; although you might still want to address what's going on)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 09:16am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
OK let me clarify what I'm asking here.

Sequence of events:
Shot
Shooter lands
Contact with B1
Ball goes in

Basket counts?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 18, 2013, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
OK let me clarify what I'm asking here.

Sequence of events:
Shot
Shooter lands
Contact with B1
Ball goes in

Basket counts?
Ask yourself (or look it up) -- When does the ball become dead when a try is in the air?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1