![]() |
For calls, I agree with Pennsylvania Coach, the kick.
For no-calls, I think the travel in a variety of situations. It's no-called way, way too often in my opinion. And I think it really does affect the game. |
I think travelling is the most-missed no call as well as one of the most missed calls.
Too many officials watch too much NBA and have the thought "Did I really just see what I thought I saw??" Thus the no call that should have been called. Other officials simply do not understand the pivot foot, and will make a travel call as soon as the pivot foot is lifted off of the floor. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
one more..
the fumble (then dribble) that many call double dribble. Some think that a ball can never hit the floor without it being something illegal.
|
Re: Re: Geez!
Quote:
Sgt. Hulka refs now??!?! |
clarification on over and back
Just to clarify......if A1 has possesion, passes towards A2, ball is tipped by B1, then tipped by A2 and crosses into back court, and is first touched by A2....this IS over and back?
very interesting discussions here...looking forward to being involved! p.s. any tips on how to copy and paste, making fonts bold, as I have seen on several replies. |
Wow, it really gets you thinking.
Mark, that makes a lot of sense about the over and back violation, and that a tip doesn't make it safe for team A to regain posession, because team A is still in control of the ball, because team B hasn't yet gained control. No longer will that be a no call when I ref. Thanks for pointing that out, and helping me become a better official. I guess that I shouldn't just do what a veteran says, without first checking the rulebook. |
Quote:
|
I say that now, but i'll probably be too lazy to actually check when the time comes, and just take his/her word for it.
|
Quote:
The more you learn, the less I get yelled at. |
Quote:
|
Re: clarification on over and back
Quote:
1) Team control 2) Ball reaches the front court 3) A last to touch before ball goes to backcourt 4) A first to touch after ball goes to backcourt All those were present in your play, so we have a violation. Note that having A touch the ball in the front court, or in the back court, is not a requirement. Note also that some (primarily RefMag) combione the first two requirements into "Team control in the front court." This is technically true (since team control doesn't change until Team B gets the ball), but it sometimes gets read / interpreted incorrectly. I think it's clearer and easier to understand if thte requirement is split into two. Quote:
|
My guess would be block/charge or getting the first foul that occurred in the paint.
|
Kick
Jump stop/travel |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm. |