![]() |
The following post on another thread.....
Quote:
My vote goes to the over and back where B1 hits the ball off A1 into the backcourt and the ball is then recovered by A1. I wish I had a dollar for every time I've seen a no call on this. I'd have enough to buy that Bobby Knight pinata. http://www.click-smilie.de/sammlung/.../DevilSign.gif |
I have two nominees:
#1: The block/charge foul. A block is called far too many times when a charge is the correct call. #2: Disconcerting action by bench personnel. I am sorry but I could not resist. |
Anytime there is contact there is a chance for a wrong call. So here is a list
1. Block/charge. enough said already. I don't know anyone who is 100% on calling it correctly. I did a summer game where there were two crashes that my parnter and I disagreed on. We each just allowed the person who's call it was to make it. 2. Pushing through a one on two. I had a Div 1 official tell me this is his hardest call to make. 3. Illegal Screens. Are we watching off ball enough to see the whole play. Especially those screens away from the ball. 4. Pass/crash. stay with the passer as trail. Same discipline that we use for the three point shot. 5. Defender virtical, offense draws a call. Too quick to blow the whistle. 6. Overtheback. It is ok to be behind someone and outjump them to a ball. It is not ok to diplace the player in front of you or allow him to make a play on the ball. Please report this as a push. Not "Over the back". The coaches think that wording is in the rule book. [Edited by Tim Roden on Jul 29th, 2003 at 12:47 AM] |
I say it is the 5 or 10 second violation. How often do you see a guy taking the ball out, and the cout gets up to 4, and he lofts a high arc pass to someone 30 feet away. Many officials stop counting when the ball is released, when they should be waiting for the ball to be touched.
|
On the five second violation of a throw in, the release is when you stop counting. On the 10 second back court violation it is the touch after the ball is passed from player a1 in backcourt to a2 in front court that the count ends.
[Edited by Tim Roden on Jul 29th, 2003 at 12:48 AM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Your version of the 5 second throw in rule was changed about 25 years ago,LDUB.Count now stops on release by thrower-in.You're right on the 10 second count going backcourt to frontcourt,though. Welcome to the board,btw. |
Quote:
...What Tim and JR said. |
Quote:
This just happened to me in the summer league I play in. The ball got fired off my foot on an entry pass, I'm going to run it down and the whistle blows. "Am I supposed to move my foot out of the way when he throws the ball at it?" was met by a blank stare. |
Geez!
Quote:
|
1) A high, ugly dribble that is called a carry when the hand never goes under (or even to the side) of the ball.
2) A travel call on a bobbled pass when the received never gained control of the ball. Z |
I have to agree with Mark D. on both of them.
I call LOTS of charges each season, because legal guarding position isn't as hard to obtain and maintain as most people think. Also, I almost had a near riot when B1 slapped the ball off A1's leg and the ball went into the backcourt and picked up by A1. Tweet. Almost another tweet for a technical. Rich |
Quote:
Block/charge close second. Quote:
:D |
Re: Geez!
Quote:
|
quick whistle on held ball
This may not go along with mis-applying a rule but it is one of my pet peeves. Quick whistle on a held ball. Half the time the ball is really not in control by either team or you have a player doing a "Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka jump off the top rope" to dive on top of a player going for a loose ball and instead of calling a foul we call a jump ball. Usually when I call this foul the first thing out of the coaches mouth is " He was going for the ball !!" and I say "Coach, I had to call the foul before he went for the sleeper hold !"
[Edited by tnroundballref on Jul 29th, 2003 at 11:36 AM] |
For calls, I agree with Pennsylvania Coach, the kick.
For no-calls, I think the travel in a variety of situations. It's no-called way, way too often in my opinion. And I think it really does affect the game. |
I think travelling is the most-missed no call as well as one of the most missed calls.
Too many officials watch too much NBA and have the thought "Did I really just see what I thought I saw??" Thus the no call that should have been called. Other officials simply do not understand the pivot foot, and will make a travel call as soon as the pivot foot is lifted off of the floor. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
one more..
the fumble (then dribble) that many call double dribble. Some think that a ball can never hit the floor without it being something illegal.
|
Re: Re: Geez!
Quote:
Sgt. Hulka refs now??!?! |
clarification on over and back
Just to clarify......if A1 has possesion, passes towards A2, ball is tipped by B1, then tipped by A2 and crosses into back court, and is first touched by A2....this IS over and back?
very interesting discussions here...looking forward to being involved! p.s. any tips on how to copy and paste, making fonts bold, as I have seen on several replies. |
Wow, it really gets you thinking.
Mark, that makes a lot of sense about the over and back violation, and that a tip doesn't make it safe for team A to regain posession, because team A is still in control of the ball, because team B hasn't yet gained control. No longer will that be a no call when I ref. Thanks for pointing that out, and helping me become a better official. I guess that I shouldn't just do what a veteran says, without first checking the rulebook. |
Quote:
|
I say that now, but i'll probably be too lazy to actually check when the time comes, and just take his/her word for it.
|
Quote:
The more you learn, the less I get yelled at. |
Quote:
|
Re: clarification on over and back
Quote:
1) Team control 2) Ball reaches the front court 3) A last to touch before ball goes to backcourt 4) A first to touch after ball goes to backcourt All those were present in your play, so we have a violation. Note that having A touch the ball in the front court, or in the back court, is not a requirement. Note also that some (primarily RefMag) combione the first two requirements into "Team control in the front court." This is technically true (since team control doesn't change until Team B gets the ball), but it sometimes gets read / interpreted incorrectly. I think it's clearer and easier to understand if thte requirement is split into two. Quote:
|
My guess would be block/charge or getting the first foul that occurred in the paint.
|
Kick
Jump stop/travel |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33pm. |