![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS 4-23-3 . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status. b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. NCAA 4-35-6 . To maintain a legal guarding position after the initial position has been attained, the guard: a. Is not required to continue having the torso face the opponent; b. Is required to have either one foot or both feet on the playing court (cannot be out of bounds); c. May raise the hands or may jump within his or her own vertical plane; d. May shift to maintain guarding position in the path of the dribbler, provided that the guard does not charge into the dribbler or otherwise cause contact; e. May move laterally or obliquely to maintain position provided such a move is not toward the opponent when contact occurs; f. Is not required to have the feet on the playing court when shifting in the path of the dribbler or when moving laterally or obliquely; and g. May turn or duck to absorb shock when contact by the dribbler is imminent. In such a case, the dribbler shall not be absolved from the responsibility of contact. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Drawing Charges | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 7 | Tue Feb 14, 2012 02:53pm |
| Airbourne player charges into backward moving defender | MiamiWadeCounty | Basketball | 9 | Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:04am |
| TE cut blocks | MIcoach | Football | 34 | Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:44am |
| starts with elbow, ends with charges | rsl | Basketball | 6 | Fri Jan 08, 2010 06:19pm |
| 2 questions about charges and blocks | N dub | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jul 04, 2005 03:12pm |