The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout Dead Ball when.......... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94949-timeout-dead-ball-when.html)

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 01:16pm

Timeout Dead Ball when..........
 
If an official (improperly) grants a timeout request while a successful try is in flight, does the basket count?

APG Sun May 05, 2013 01:29pm

Why wouldn't you count the basket?

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 01:47pm

5-8-3: Timeout occurs when an official grants a timeout request.



And this is not one of the exceptions.

APG Sun May 05, 2013 02:12pm

Interesting...I'll have to find my books, but I would still count the basket.

JetMetFan Sun May 05, 2013 02:31pm

Here's why it should count...
 
NFHS Rule 6-7-5

ART. 5
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
An official's whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 892930)
NFHS Rule 6-7-5

ART. 5
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
An official's whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.


According to most, the whistle is not what causes the ball to be dead on a timeout request. If an airborne player makes a request and lands out of bounds before the whistle, does he get the timeout?

I have said before that an editorial revision is needed here. This thread was to help make that case.

BillyMac Sun May 05, 2013 03:21pm

Let's Get Ready To Rumble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 892931)
According to most, the whistle is not what causes the ball to be dead on a timeout request. If an airborne player makes a request and lands out of bounds before the whistle, does he get the timeout?

I absolutely love this question.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-Sb-nJlHa5o...viePopcorn.jpg

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 03:26pm

The airborne player question has been discussed at length, and pretty much everybody agrees that you grant the timeout, even though the wording of the rule may not support this.

Raymond Sun May 05, 2013 03:37pm

jar, if you are proposing that the ball is immediately dead on this play then you should have also brought up that you were resuming play with an AP throw in.

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 892937)
jar, if you are proposing that the ball is immediately dead on this play then you should have also brought up that you were resuming play with an AP throw in.

Why?

Raymond Sun May 05, 2013 03:48pm

Because you said the play became dead while there was no team control. If you are going to argue rules then argue all the applicable rules.

And in NCAA granting a time out when a team is not in control is an inadvertent whistle. An IW during a successful try does not negate the try.

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 892941)
Because you said the play became dead while there was no team control. If you are going to argue rules then argue all the applicable rules.

And in NCAA granting a time out when a team is not in control is an inadvertent whistle. An IW during a successful try does not negate the try.

Wasn't talking about NCAA. NFHS has no such rule. (does it?) It does state that once a timeout is granted, correctly or not, it cannot be revoked. What it doesn't say is when the ball becomes dead.

Raymond Sun May 05, 2013 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 892944)
Wasn't talking about NCAA. NFHS has no such rule. (does it?) It does state that once a timeout is granted, correctly or not, it cannot be revoked. What it doesn't say is when the ball becomes dead.

You still haven't addressed the status of the ball. Why WOULDN'T your ruling lead to an AP throw in?

just another ref Sun May 05, 2013 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 892946)
You still haven't addressed the status of the ball. Why WOULDN'T your ruling lead to an AP throw in?


Okay, I missed the point. Even though this wasn't an inadvertent whistle, if the ball became dead with no team control, it would be an AP situation. One more reason why this matter needs attention.

Adam Sun May 05, 2013 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 892944)
Wasn't talking about NCAA. NFHS has no such rule. (does it?) It does state that once a timeout is granted, correctly or not, it cannot be revoked. What it doesn't say is when the ball becomes dead.

Over-thinking is what leads officials to go the arrow when they shouldn't, or to shoot four free throws on a technical foul because they're in the bonus, or all sorts of other silly things.

The rule on when the ball becomes dead is easy. If the whistle blows when a try is in flight, there's no rule that makes the ball dead before it goes through the basket.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1