The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-in question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94822-throw-question.html)

Adam Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 891356)
7-6-2 "The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court..." and "The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched."
Thus, a) when the thrower releases the ball into the court, and the ball strikes the back of the backboard, it is a violation.
Likewise, b) if the thrower could pass the ball so that it hits the face, side, top, or bottom of the backboard and then carom back to the thrower, it is a violation.
In both cases, the ball was released "into the court" but did not "touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) before going out of bounds" -a) contacting the out of bounds, back of the backboard, or b) contacting the thrower, who is out of bounds.
So, once the ball is released on a pass by the thrower, "into the court", the next contact of the ball determines whether a violation has occurred.
The same applies to an inbounding pass that crosses the court, without touching another player, and then goes out of bounds.

1. The ball never went onto the court. (Ball location.)
2. It was not a throw in pass (assuming he intentionally bounced it off the backboard.)

rockyroad Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:21am

We are , for some reason, arguing 9.2.2 Sit. A, which clearly says that throwing the ball off the back of the backboard constitutes the throw-in touching an object that is out of bounds. Someone thought they would be "smart" and argue that the back of the backboard is LOCATED in-bounds, even though the rules say that the back of the backboard is out of bounds.

SamIAm Thu Apr 18, 2013 03:37pm

Is it an OOB vioation for the dribbler to touch the back of the backboard?

How about the supporting cables on basketball goals? The ball can go around the cables in any direction without a violation unless the ball touches the cables.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 18, 2013 07:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 891330)
This is a serious question. Where is it a violation to cause the ball to violate the inbounds air space. I'm honestly trying to find the rule that makes this a violation. If it's not a throw in pass, what rule has the thrower violated?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 891334)
Breaking the inbounds plane during a throw in is not against the rules. Where do you get the notion you're espousing here?

NFHS 7-5-7 a. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary.

If the thrower doesn't pass the ball outside of the boundary plane to a teammate as in the above rule, then it must be a throw-in pass once it breaks the boundary plane and is subject to the rules and restrictions cited by Rob in post #14.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 18, 2013 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 891402)
Is it an OOB vioation for the dribbler to touch the back of the backboard?

How about the supporting cables on basketball goals? The ball can go around the cables in any direction without a violation unless the ball touches the cables.

Excellent question which will probably blow the minds of several people who KNOW the answer when they look up the relevant rules and try to prove their belief.

Nevadaref Thu Apr 18, 2013 08:05pm

Rule ❒7 Out of Bounds and the Throw-in
SECTION 1 OUT-OF-BOUNDS — PLAYER, BALL
ART. 1 . . . A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary. For location of a player in the air, see 4-35.

Rule 4
SECTION 35 PLAYER LOCATION
ART. 1 . . . The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.
ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-
point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three- point line, respectively.

deecee Thu Apr 18, 2013 08:17pm

How is this any different than a full court pass that doesnt touch anyone or the court and goes out of bounds? except in this case the ball doesn't make is past the back of the backboard. OOB and inbounds spot is the same as the previous crappy one by the opposing team.

Camron Rust Thu Apr 18, 2013 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 891419)
Rule ❒7 Out of Bounds and the Throw-in
SECTION 1 OUT-OF-BOUNDS — PLAYER, BALL
ART. 1 . . . A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary. For location of a player in the air, see 4-35.

Rule 4
SECTION 35 PLAYER LOCATION
ART. 1 . . . The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.
ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-
point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three- point line, respectively.

So, you're saying that the entire backboard is actually OOB since that is where it is mounted.:D

Nevadaref Fri Apr 19, 2013 05:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 891430)
So, you're saying that the entire backboard is actually OOB since that is where it is in mounted.:D

Now that is the kind of thinking which this discussion was to inspire!

upprdeck Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:11am

I thought it was illegal for any player to throw the ball off the opp backboard to himself front or back. you can do it off the board you are shooting at not the opp board?

Raymond Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 891677)
I thought it was illegal for any player to throw the ball off the opp backboard to himself front or back. you can do it off the board you are shooting at not the opp board?

It's not illegal to throw the ball off the front, side, or bottom of an opponent's backboard in and of itself. The status of your dribble determines the legality.

upprdeck Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:33am

I thought the rule says you cant dribble out of bounds there for since the throwing off the board is considered a dribble it would be illegal?

HokiePaul Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:37am

Sorry if someone got this already... but this seems pretty straightforward.

7-6 Article 2. "The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7 ("player may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary"), within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player before going out of bounds untouched.

Back of the backboard is out of bounds, so a pass that hits the out of bounds backboard untouched is out of bounds untouched-- violation.

Raymond Mon Apr 22, 2013 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 891687)
I thought the rule says you cant dribble out of bounds there for since the throwing off the board is considered a dribble it would be illegal?

Did you read my entire post?

Why do you have the idea that the entire backboard is OOB?

bob jenkins Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by upprdeck (Post 891687)
I thought the rule says you cant dribble out of bounds there for since the throwing off the board is considered a dribble it would be illegal?

All correct, except your seeming assumption that the backboard is OOB. Only the back is OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1