The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Syracuse-Indiana clips(s) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94579-syracuse-indiana-clips-s.html)

Adam Fri Mar 29, 2013 02:49pm

On #1, the point at which you'd call a shooting foul is the point where he gathers the ball. It's hard to tell whether his left is still on the floor, or whether it's just barely off the floor. If I can't tell, I'm not calling it.

just another ref Fri Mar 29, 2013 03:34pm

I was the one that remarked on the distance covered. Of course no one would make the call based on that alone, but it is further evidence. Not saying it can't be done, but somebody show video of a layup, in traffic, where the last dribble was right at the 3 point arc.

JRutledge Fri Mar 29, 2013 03:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 887595)
I was the one that remarked on the distance covered. Of course no one would make the call based on that alone, but it is further evidence. Not saying it can't be done, but somebody show video of a layup, in traffic, where the last dribble was right at the 3 point arc.

That is one of the worst judges of a travel or even evidence as anything. A tall player that is well over 6 feet tall can cover a lot of distance in a couple of steps and moving at full speed. Either you judge which one is the pivot foot or you don't. But how far someone moves is very silly. Because I would think a college player can cover more distance than a JH player doing the same move. Sorry, but that part of this discussion is lame. If you want to debate when he gathered the ball and which one is the pivot foot then OK, that part at least has merit.

Peace

just another ref Fri Mar 29, 2013 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 887596)
That is one of the worst judges of a travel or even evidence as anything. A tall player that is well over 6 feet tall can cover a lot of distance in a couple of steps and moving at full speed.

That's the whole point he covered a lot of distance. But when the pivot is at the top of the key, a couple of steps is a travel.


Seriously, this thread seals the deal for me.

He hadn't/may not have finished "gathering" the ball. This, it seems, translates to "do not call a travel."

JRutledge Fri Mar 29, 2013 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 887597)
That's the whole point he covered a lot of distance. But when the pivot is at the top of the key, a couple of steps is a travel.


Seriously, this thread seals the deal for me.

He hadn't/may not have finished "gathering" the ball. This, it seems, translates to "do not call a travel."

No, the rules are clear what a player does to stop a dribble. It does say it must come to rest in that one hand or both hands must touch the ball. He did not have both hands come to the ball and it does not appear the ball came to rest in that one hand when the foot you claim was when that point took place. I am just saying that is awful quick to make that determination and in the "real world" with athletes this big and fast, you better be sure. And it is totally in doubt when the dribble actually stopped.

Peace

APG Fri Mar 29, 2013 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 887595)
I was the one that remarked on the distance covered. Of course no one would make the call based on that alone, but it is further evidence. Not saying it can't be done, but somebody show video of a layup, in traffic, where the last dribble was right at the 3 point arc.

I have never used distanced cover and never heard anyone use that as any criteria. And it think it's an even sillier piece of evidence to use when you consider even the caliber of athletes in some high school games.

just another ref Fri Mar 29, 2013 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 887599)
I have never used distanced cover and never heard anyone use that as any criteria. And it think it's an even sillier piece of evidence to use when you consider even the caliber of athletes in some high school games.

I have never used it to make the call either, but physics plays a part in most things. Show me a video and I may say, "Gee, you're right. That's easier than I thought."

But the play at hand is still a travel.

Period

Anybody that can look at this is slow motion and argue it? I don't get it.

Pantherdreams Fri Mar 29, 2013 04:10pm

#1 the problem with the travel on the finishing steps is is going to come down to determination of when the player gathered. I actually think there may be a travel on the inital take of as he appears to jump with both feet and reach out with the ball but not actually push in to the floor until he's left the floor and is moving past defense.

#2 Probably a shuffle in there but hard to see at speed and as a transitioning official.

just another ref Fri Mar 29, 2013 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 887598)
No, the rules are clear what a player does to stop a dribble. It does say it must come to rest in that one hand or both hands must touch the ball. He did not have both hands come to the ball and it does not appear the ball came to rest in that one hand when the foot you claim was when that point took place. I am just saying that is awful quick to make that determination and in the "real world" with athletes this big and fast, you better be sure. And it is totally in doubt when the dribble actually stopped.

Peace

1. It had come to rest in one hand while the left foot was still flat on the floor.

2. He had both hands on the ball before the right foot ever passed the free throw line. The pivot was still very firmly on the floor.

3. I gotta back the announcers. This was a pretty easy call in real time.

Yes, one will fool you on occasion, but on this one the video proves the violation. But, that's fine. This is what the powers that be want "at this level" apparently. When in doubt, no call, and you can doubt anything.

BillyMac Fri Mar 29, 2013 04:27pm

Tough Call, Either Way ...
 
Play #1: I think that the right foot is the pivot foot, and, thus, no travel.

OKREF Fri Mar 29, 2013 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 887603)
1. It had come to rest in one hand while the left foot was still flat on the floor.

+1. The ball is in his right hand, dribble stopped, with his left foot on the floor.

OKREF Fri Mar 29, 2013 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 887547)
If you stop the video at 11 seconds, the player has both hands on the ball and the left foot on the ground (just outside the FT circle).

When the left foot touches again, it's a travel.

Exactly. This is clearly a travel, I thought it was when I saw it live.

JetMetFan Fri Mar 29, 2013 05:53pm

Let the discussion...continue
 
http://i45.tinypic.com/14u8jdu.jpg

OKREF Fri Mar 29, 2013 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 887620)

If that isn't the end of a dribble, what is? Left foot on the floor. He is going to take three steps, right, left, right.

BillyMac Fri Mar 29, 2013 06:14pm

Where's The Bear ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 887621)
If that isn't the end of a dribble, what is? Left foot on the floor. He is going to take three steps, right, left, right.

Nice photo. I stand corrected.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1